Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 11:15 PM   #1
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


I have telephone jacks in most of the rooms on the first floor except for one room where I am planning on putting the cable modem.

Is there a way to tap into one of the phone jacks in the other room and bring it into this room or is there another way?


I am aware of those powerline phone adapters, but I want to avoid using those if possible.

gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Telephone jack in another room


You can tap off a phone jack in one of the other rooms but the best practice is to run a a new home cable from the demarcation point where the phone line comes into the house. Is there a basement underneath this room where you want to run the new line?

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:48 PM   #3
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


There is a basement, but locating the demarc point is difficult. Im not sure where to look first.
gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:33 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Look near the electric meter or service panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Telephone jack in another room


It's probably a grey box somewhere on the outside of your house. Its the point where the phone company's line comes in and goes into your house.
While it is good to run a whole new line back to the demarcation point for some reasons, it isn't a requirement. In fact, if you look at some of your existing jacks I'd bet they are wired to another nearby jack and not back to the demarcation point. Most residential phone networks are still installed using a "Bus topology" where the jacks are connected to each other.
Going through the basement is probably the easiest route if you can do it.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:55 PM   #6
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Quote:
Originally Posted by dftc View Post
It's probably a grey box somewhere on the outside of your house. Its the point where the phone company's line comes in and goes into your house.
While it is good to run a whole new line back to the demarcation point for some reasons, it isn't a requirement. In fact, if you look at some of your existing jacks I'd bet they are wired to another nearby jack and not back to the demarcation point. Most residential phone networks are still installed using a "Bus topology" where the jacks are connected to each other.
Going through the basement is probably the easiest route if you can do it.
You might be right about the wiring. I found the grey box outside, but it seems the wire from the telco was snipped, probably by the optimum crew. There seems to be one wire going into the house though. That I confirmed by going to the basement.

I have optimum voice by the way.


Here is a picture. It is quite old, but still works.


Last edited by gta; 12-22-2012 at 04:59 PM.
gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:42 AM   #7
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


So how would I go about wiring?


Also should I use cat 3 or cat 5e cable?
gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:59 AM   #8
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,101
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Simply tap off another Jack.
no reason to run a new line.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 06:03 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Cat 3 is ok, but cat 5 is better and the difference in price should be pretty small for your project.
The rest of your house probably has the old 4 wire cable anyway.
You will only use two of the wire pairs in the new cable and most of the cat 5 you will find has 4 pairs. The blue and orange pairs would be the correct ones for typical phone lines. The rest of the unused wires can be wrapped back around the cable at the ends to keep them out of the way. Your old cable probably has green, red, black, and yellow wires. With the new cable you attach the mostly blue to the red, the white with blue stripes to the green, the white with orange to the black, and the mostly orange to the yellow.
Get some kind of jack to install at the new location and run your wire. There are dozens of decent tutorials on the Internet about this topic so I won't go through it all step by step. It's not difficult however. Just take a look at how your existing jacks are wired and try to replicate that.
Make sure that you don't have any phone signal before you start. These are low-voltage lines but you can still get a decent shock if a call comes in while you are working.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:15 PM   #10
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Thanks for the help.

But lets say I did run a wire all the way from the NID box. Do I just connect the same color wires to the terminals in the picture?
gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Telephone jack in another room


If you tap off of the terminals in the picture you would just use the same colors. Solid blue/white with blue for pair one. Solid orange/white with orange for pair two.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Yes, but I see a big mess of cut wires in the picture. Make sure at least one other cable is going into the house intact and connect your new cable to the same terminals. The goal is to tie your new jack into all the others in the house. If all of those wires are cut at the demarcation point then that won't work. You'd just be connected to a dead block on the side of your house.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 04:12 PM   #13
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,101
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Quote:
Originally Posted by dftc View Post
Yes, but I see a big mess of cut wires in the picture. Make sure at least one other cable is going into the house intact and connect your new cable to the same terminals. The goal is to tie your new jack into all the others in the house. If all of those wires are cut at the demarcation point then that won't work. You'd just be connected to a dead block on the side of your house.
Perfect reason to just tap off another Jack that you KNOW works!
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 03:25 AM   #14
gta
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Telephone jack in another room


Quote:
Originally Posted by dftc View Post
Yes, but I see a big mess of cut wires in the picture. Make sure at least one other cable is going into the house intact and connect your new cable to the same terminals. The goal is to tie your new jack into all the others in the house. If all of those wires are cut at the demarcation point then that won't work. You'd just be connected to a dead block on the side of your house.

I can see some wires that are not cut and they are going into the house. I do see one telephone wire in the basement that corresponds with the location of the NID box, so that must be it.

Those cut wires you see I believe were from the main telco line, but perhaps the optimum tech snipped them.


Can you splice the one telephone cable and run the line that way? Would that degrade the signal quality in any way?


I would tap into another jack, but that would require drilling additional holes to route the wires right?

Last edited by gta; 12-24-2012 at 03:41 AM.
gta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:36 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Telephone jack in another room


The optimum tech should have cut just the wires coming into the box from the telco. I just couldn't tell if he got carried away when I was looking at the picture. If those are the only cut wires then you can connect your new cable to the same terminals that the other cable going into your house uses. That will tie everything together and won't degrade any signal quality.
You could think of the demarcation point box like a junction box for this purpose.


Last edited by dftc; 12-24-2012 at 04:39 AM.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating a cold/well room? Lynch Building & Construction 23 07-25-2014 02:49 PM
How big should a mechanical/utility room be? reveriereptile Building & Construction 30 03-14-2012 08:11 AM
Brainstorming ideas to Dress Up the front room of my new house!! the_d_mann1 Interior Decorating 0 05-01-2011 04:47 PM
Cut phone wire loop for jack? agoldsmith Electrical 3 01-27-2010 10:02 AM
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 07:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.