Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 05:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

tapping into well control box?


I was designed a house filteration systems that requires a steinner
pump to turn on when the well pump comes on.

The steinner pumps is hooked-up to a water diluted beach tank
and injects the solution into the water line coming form the well.
The pump is a 240 volt .9 amp pump.

The well is a 240 single phase motor with Franklin Electric control box.

The input to the control box is: L1 & L2

The output/wires of the control box to the well is:

Yellow lead = line amps
Black lead = main winding amps
Read lead = start or auxilary winding amps

My question is what wires in the control box should be used to wire the
240 outlet (3 required) for the steinner pump?

Thanks

jjkrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:44 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,039
Rewards Points: 18
Default

tapping into well control box?


[quote=jjkrem;222648]I was designed a house filteration systems that requires a steinner
pump to turn on when the well pump comes on.

The steinner pumps is hooked-up to a water diluted beach tank
and injects the solution into the water line coming form the well.
The pump is a 240 volt .9 amp pump.

The well is a 240 single phase motor with Franklin Electric control box.

The input to the control box is: L1 & L2

The output/wires of the control box to the well is:

Yellow lead = line amps
Black lead = main winding amps
Read lead = start or auxilary winding amps

My question is what wires in the control box should be used to wire the
240 outlet (3 required) for the steinner pump?

If the filtration pump is 240 volts it should only require 2 wires (ignoring the bare ground or green lead). Connect to the L1, L2 at the controll box or at the pressure switch (which supplies the power to the conrol box).

rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:49 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

tapping into well control box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjkrem View Post
I was designed a house filteration systems that requires a steinner
pump to turn on when the well pump comes on.

The steinner pumps is hooked-up to a water diluted beach tank
and injects the solution into the water line coming form the well.
The pump is a 240 volt .9 amp pump.

The well is a 240 single phase motor with Franklin Electric control box.

The input to the control box is: L1 & L2

The output/wires of the control box to the well is:

Yellow lead = line amps
Black lead = main winding amps
Read lead = start or auxilary winding amps

My question is what wires in the control box should be used to wire the
240 outlet (3 required) for the steinner pump?

Thanks
........................

Last edited by chris75; 01-31-2009 at 05:53 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 06:04 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

tapping into well control box?


Be careful here, if the pump is 2 HP or larger, the pressure switch might control the coil of a contactor in the pump control box. This means that L1 & L2 will always be hot.

If the flow of power goes from the breaker to the pressure switch, then to the pump control box, L1 & L2 will only be hot when the pump is running.

If the power goes from the breaker to the control box, and another separate pair of wires goes from the control box to the pressure switch, we'll need a bit more info to make it work.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

tapping into well control box?


Thanks for the reply I'll look at the option of using the
L1 and L2 on the other side of the pressure switch and
post my findings....
jjkrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 07:40 AM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

tapping into well control box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjkrem View Post
The pump is a 240 volt .9 amp pump.
The problem I have is your ground fault and short circuit protection...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

tapping into well control box?


I checked L1 and L1 and there is 240 volt there that is
on only when the well is on. This is what I need for the
240 volts, however, I do not have a ground to go to
the outlet box the steinner pump will plug into.

Coming into and from the pressure switch there are only
L1 and L1 and a bare wire ground the is grounding the
control switch box.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

jjkrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grundfos Circulator with Vaiable Speed Control amatantsev HVAC 3 01-23-2010 12:52 PM
Using a thermostat/relay to control baseboard heater perpetual98 Electrical 10 06-07-2009 11:57 PM
SEWER BACK UP, Which Flood Control Good????? diyjt5259 Plumbing 1 10-08-2008 10:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.