Tapping Into Existing Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 09:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


I'm installing a fan in our bathroom that never had a fan. There's a 20-amp 12/2 wire that runs from the panel to the jet controls of our bathtub.

I'd like to somehow tap into this circuit to power the fan and a new switch for the fan. If I cut the Romex that runs through the attic before it travels into the wall to the bathtub, is there some sort of T connector I can use to add another 12/2 wire directly to the fan?

Thanks.

Advertisement

sjnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:07 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Whirlpool tubs generally require their own 15 or 20A circuit. You will need to find something else to tap off of. It can be any lighting circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:33 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


The whrilpool tub system genrally are on delicated circuit so you will have to find something else like your light switch in your bathroom is a good place to tie into it.

So one of the most common way is hook the fan to one of the ceiling luminaire so that way when you turn the ceiling luminaire on the fan do come on at the same time.

Or add a extra gang box ( it can be 2 or 3 depending what ya got there ) and wired from there.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


All connections will need to be made in a juntion box that accessable and has a cover.
So no there no such thing as a "T" fitting.
When you cut a wire in the middle of a run there's almost never enough wire to make a proper connection.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
All connections will need to be made in a juntion box that accessable and has a cover.
So no there no such thing as a "T" fitting.
When you cut a wire in the middle of a run there's almost never enough wire to make a proper connection.
The one time I tried this I was able to improve how the wire ran well enough to make it work. But I got lucky.

Could you put both ends into a box and attach some pigtails to one side to make it all longer. It would be really ugly, but would it be allowed?

A few years back I saw a device that allowed you to connect wires outside a box. Never tried it and haven't seen it since, but it looked like it would work.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
When you cut a wire in the middle of a run there's almost never enough wire to make a proper connection.
That's the crux of your problem right there. You need a circuit different from your bathtub, but if you find one and you've got accessible wiring (say in an attic over your bathroom), you can cut the wire in two different locations and thus create enough length to feed into two new electrical boxes. You will need to connect those two boxes together using whatever sort of wiring is there now (returning your wiring to its former state), and you can run wire to your fan from one of the boxes as well. That's how you create your "tee" - it's not really a tee.

If you don't have accessible wiring the job will be a lot more tricky.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 170
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
When you cut a wire in the middle of a run there's almost never enough wire to make a proper connection.
What you do is put in two boxes, about a foot apart. You cut the line you want to tap into and run one end to one box, and the other end to the other box. Then you put in a short piece of romex (or whatever method is approved in your area) between the boxes. It's kind of a hack, but sometimes there is no better way.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fa_f3_20 For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-07-2013)
Old 01-07-2013, 06:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


The rest of the wiring for the bathroom is old knob and tube. I don't want to mess with it. Although it sounds like the tub requires its own circuit, the fan only requires .1 amps to run, so it'd be a negligible load. Plus we never use the jets in the tub anyways.

All of the houses ceiling fixtures are on one circuit. I'll see about tapping into that.
sjnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:27 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,999
Rewards Points: 2,796
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Ungrounded knob and tube should not be extended.

It does not matter that you are only talking about adding 1 amp of load to the tub circuit. The tub requires an individual branch circuit that is not shared.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:40 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tapping into existing circuit


Well, it sounds like I'll have to run a new circuit for the fan. That's a big expense for a tiny electrical load, but I'd rather be safe. Thanks for the advice.

Advertisement

sjnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new GFI circuit to existing sub panel. spudgun Electrical 3 10-12-2012 06:22 PM
Tapping into circuit in attic? christoph Electrical 6 03-29-2012 11:23 AM
Stealing power from existing circuit ShafTT Electrical 7 11-10-2011 05:38 PM
Splitting an existing circuit run JoeyBradshaw Electrical 1 09-24-2010 09:02 PM
Branching off existing circuit schnitz411 Electrical 13 03-14-2010 11:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts