Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 09:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Tapping into circuit in attic?


What is the proper way to tap into an existing circuit in the attic so I can get power to a new ceiling fan? Can someone post a diagram or a link. I also want to add via attic access 2 ceiling lights to a bedroom so I want to tap into a circuit over the bedroom.

christoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:10 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,155
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


Use a junction box. I used my bedroom lighting circuit, when I hooked up my attic vent fan. Keep in mind, that if you are nearing the limits on the 15 amp circuit.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:24 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


i understand to use a junction box, but what if the wire i'm tapping into does not have enough slack to comfortably do it? what is the best way to add the junction box then?
christoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:26 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


Certain circuits should not be tapped into as they a dedicated to specific usages.

Without enough slack you need to add 2 junction boxes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
christoph (03-29-2012)
Old 03-29-2012, 09:27 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


add two junction boxes and wire between them

Be sure that all power is off in that cable before cutting it.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:28 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


thats what i thought, ty
christoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 10:23 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,555
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Tapping into circuit in attic?


And be sure of what cable you are cutting into. If the cable happens to be a switch loop, then you can't get power from it. There will be no neutral. Even though there is a white wire it will not be neutral.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
k_buz (03-29-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie questions on refinishing walkup attic with knee walls FileOpen Insulation 2 11-19-2011 11:31 PM
Help with complicated insulation project in attic OhmZoned Insulation 12 11-19-2011 08:49 AM
Raccoons in the attic electricpete Pest Control 17 05-12-2011 04:02 AM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM
Attic fan and skylights on same circuit ok? shadango Electrical 7 06-09-2008 02:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.