Tap A Three Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2007, 07:19 PM   #1
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tap a three way switch


I have a three way light switch box that I expanded to a double gang switch for a new unrelated set of lights over the stove since we got rid of the range hood.

I want to power the new lights from the three way switch which I can do until the OTHER three way switch on the far side of the room is turned off.

Is there a way to do this without running a new hot lead for the new switch?

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 08:23 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tap a three way switch


Sounds like you're tapping in at the switch leg side of the 3- way. You are going to have to run a new hot over there. Maybe from the basement?

Advertisement

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 09:09 PM   #3
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tap a three way switch


Yeah I'm on the other side of the room from the feed.

I can live with it the way it is since we rarely use the other three way switch.

Was just wondering if I was missing something.

Thanks
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 03:21 PM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tap a three way switch


Naw, you didn't miss anything...ain't electricity fun?
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:16 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,339
Rewards Points: 3,472
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Tap a three way switch


If you only have three wires + gound in the box then you can not do it.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Ceiling Fixture / Switch Wiring gregger Electrical 1 10-21-2006 08:47 PM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 04:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts