Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 10:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


This older panel from 1960s had wires connected to each of the service entrance lugs which went to a 30 amp breaker and out to the AC unit. Is there an issue with "tapping" off the lug with these wires and providing an additional breaker? Also, is there any issue with the numerous neutral wires connected to the same lug?
Attached Images
   

mk00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:35 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mk00 View Post
This older panel from 1960s had wires connected to each of the service entrance lugs which went to a 30 amp breaker and out to the AC unit. Is there an issue with "tapping" off the lug with these wires and providing an additional breaker? Also, is there any issue with the numerous neutral wires connected to the same lug?
the neutrals should each have their own lug, you can't put two wires in the same lug unless it's rated for that use, normally the lug will be slightly egg shaped. I doubt yoru panel has them.

i should edit this to say that's current code to the best of my knowledge, no idea what it was in 1960.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 11:16 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mk00 View Post
This older panel from 1960s had wires connected to each of the service entrance lugs which went to a 30 amp breaker and out to the AC unit. Is there an issue with "tapping" off the lug with these wires and providing an additional breaker? Also, is there any issue with the numerous neutral wires connected to the same lug?
That is the old school Pushmatic breakers I have see it pretty often when I was living in Wisconsin.

Anyway do this pushmatic load centre do have main breaker in the panel or you have seperated main breaker somewhere else ?

IMO it is the time to do the replacement of the panel I know Pushmatic useally not a major issue but to find replacement parts is getting harder espcally with any two pole breaker above 60 amp.

Unforetally They are not rated for mulit wire in a hole so it have to be seprated it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:04 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


And NO, those #10's on the main lugs are NOT cool.

I agree, it is time for a panel change. BIG time.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-14-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 10:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
That is the old school Pushmatic breakers I have see it pretty often when I was living in Wisconsin.

Anyway do this pushmatic load centre do have main breaker in the panel or you have seperated main breaker somewhere else ?

IMO it is the time to do the replacement of the panel I know Pushmatic useally not a major issue but to find replacement parts is getting harder espcally with any two pole breaker above 60 amp.

Unforetally They are not rated for mulit wire in a hole so it have to be seprated it.

Merci,
Marc
No main breaker outside or in the panel...
mk00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mk00 View Post
No main breaker outside or in the panel...
If you can take a photo of the whole panel I think you did have a split buss panel so the upper third of the panel is " main " section while the rest is lower buss part aka lighting section so there is couple clues you can find.

First of all the main breaker will have 100 amp stamped on side of the pushmatic handle that number you can not miss it at all if there none there then look for 50 amp breaker which it will shut off the lower two third section of panel that is a split buss panel.

Then again please do post the whole panel we can able tell you that if that is split buss panel.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:44 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Tap Off Service Entry Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mk00 View Post
No main breaker outside or in the panel...
What is the smaller box to the lower left? Is the pushmatic panel fed from that panel? It looks like a 100 A breaker in there but I can't tell from the small pictures. My eyes are getting kind of old.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Comedy--PVC for main water line? Daulton Plumbing 8 03-23-2011 09:03 AM
Do I need a new service line? BataviaJim Electrical 8 03-04-2011 02:10 PM
Service line from house to garage.... question Todd-sta Electrical 24 11-10-2008 12:23 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.