Tap Into 20A Circuit That's Wired #10 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Hi,

I have a dedicated line that runs into my utility room that probably was meant for an electric water heater. It's wired with a #10/2 wire - but sits on a 20A breaker. I tapped into it and wired the rest with #12/2 wire. Was splicing the two different gauges an issue? ...

Also, there never was an electric water heater installed. Always natural gas

Advertisement

snucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Quote:
Originally Posted by snucky View Post
Hi,

I have a dedicated line that runs into my utility room that probably was meant for an electric water heater. It's wired with a #10/2 wire - but sits on a 20A breaker. I tapped into it and wired the rest with #12/2 wire. Was splicing the two different gauges an issue? ...

Also, there never was an electric water heater installed. Always natural gas
It's a bit hackish and can be dangerous to someone in the future who doesn't know of the wiring downgrade. Label your panel at the breaker noting the wire change.

No code issue that I'm aware of however.

Advertisement


Last edited by zappa; 03-05-2012 at 11:52 AM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Suggest removing the hot end attached to the breaker, wire nutting on about 8 inches of #12 wire, and hooking that piece to the breaker.

This will tip off anyone working in the box that the circuit is a 20 amp circuit.

(I would leave the end going to the neutral bus bar as-is.)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


You can't have a splice in the panel so you'd need a box for that Allan. There's no issue here, I would just leave it as you've done.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:08 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Quote:
Originally Posted by fdiddy View Post
You can't have a splice in the panel so you'd need a box for that Allan. There's no issue here, I would just leave it as you've done.
Please cite regulation. It is done all of the time inside panels. They are just a huge junction box.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:10 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Depending on the length of the run, the #10 may have been used vs #12 for whatever 120v circuit it is feeding. My garage is fed with a #10 run of UF, due to it is about a 75 foot run for the 120v/20a circuit, and I had it laying around, so used it. Most likely that is why it is in your place.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:26 PM   #7
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Please cite regulation. It is done all of the time inside panels. They are just a huge junction box.


Only true in Canada (CEC 6-212)


No such NEC restriction exists
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Cool I didn't know you could splice in your panel in the us. I should move south, it would make my jobs easier!
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
Only true in Canada (CEC 6-212)


No such NEC restriction exists
Does anyone know why no splices are allowed in Canada?

Seems there is a reason behind most codes.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


I hope I get this Canada codes quoted correct.,

Quote:
Rule 6-212 CEC 2009 says no - "Enclosures for circuit breakers ... shall not be used as junction boxes". So you need to go with a JB.
6-212 ...shall not be used as junction boxes, troughs, or raceways for conductors feeding through or tapping off to other apparatus.

That code means a wire running through the panel that is not connected to a breaker.
You are allowed to use marrettes in a panel to join circuits together and pigtail on a breaker. There was a old rule that said no joints in a panel but it is long gone. You just can not fill the space in the panel more than 75% CEC 12-3032
I do not know if the 12-3032 still in enforeced or not.

I am pretty sure Joed or other guys can reply with most modern Canada code on this one.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:46 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tap into 20A circuit that's wired #10


Quote:
Originally Posted by fdiddy View Post
You can't have a splice in the panel so you'd need a box for that Allan. There's no issue here, I would just leave it as you've done.
You sure the Can!! It's done often and it is NOT against code.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost Neutral on K&T Circuit RST Electrical 4 11-29-2011 12:25 PM
Circuit for bathroom in the basement felipe_heidrich Electrical 4 08-26-2011 05:54 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
110v lamp wired to 220v circuit? David Webb Electrical 22 01-13-2011 01:49 AM
4 way circuit to a 3 way circuit BigAtl Electrical 8 12-16-2010 02:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts