Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


Finally got a chance to install our tankless water heater. It was installed at one time but had to be put back in after the new breaker panel was installed. Back in service and working great. Did not have any green so I have to grab some or mark the other end green.



__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
k_buz (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 10:48 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tankless water heater install.


I don't know if I've ever wired one of these...

Are the controls being fed with 4 240V circuits? What are they for?

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tankless water heater install.


those electric tankless heaters take a ton of juice to operate
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:05 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


Four elements require four 250v feeds. Simple to install and they work great more convenience than cost savings. Luckily this utility/laundry room is a middle point for all our hot water usage and makes it a good spot for the heater.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tankless water heater install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Four elements require four 250v feeds. Simple to install and they work great more convenience than cost savings. Luckily this utility/laundry room is a middle point for all our hot water usage and makes it a good spot for the heater.
yes, they cut down on the overall bill but man, do they suck the juice while running. what is yours rated, 100A?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:09 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tankless water heater install.


I've wired small insta-hot units and commercial dishwashers with 90A booster heaters, so I guess a tankless water heater would be no different.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:13 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
those electric tankless heaters take a ton of juice to operate
Yes they do this model uses 120amps at full usage but we have never had it at full usage since it only uses enough energy to get the water to the desired temp. Was testing it out and the average faucet uses about 25-30%. I remember when we first bought it and all faucets going it was using about 80% at max usage in our home.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tankless water heater install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Yes they do this model uses 120amps at full usage but we have never had it at full usage since it only uses enough energy to get the water to the desired temp. Was testing it out and the average faucet uses about 25-30%. I remember when we first bought it and all faucets going it was using about 80% at max usage in our home.
good point, it isn't an 'all or nothing' device but i would need to put in a dedicated sub at my place!
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:23 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


This model came with a murray sub panel but it required a 125 amp breaker be put in our panel and the new murray/siemens panels only allow 110 amps per stab. So I used the breakers in this panel instead of using the sub panel. Guess I can find a use for someday. And I re purposed some of the #2 wire that used to feed the sub panel as a ground wire to the frame of our home and water main.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:27 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tankless water heater install.


I see that you have the grounds and neutrals separated in this panel. Did you do that for the heck of it, or is this a sub panel?

If its a sub panel, the GECs should be going to the main disco.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:30 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


Yes it's a sub panel. Main panel is about 60 feet away in our garage.

I also prefer to keep the grounds and neutrals separate in a main panel.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:34 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tankless water heater install.


That water ground then should be going to the main panel, unless this is a second water ground.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:37 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

tankless water heater install.


A ground conductor from my main panel in a detached garage to a water pipe in my home?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
k_buz (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tankless water heater install.


You have proven me wrong...your installation is correct. This has been another episode of "different installation practices in different parts of the country".

It is a very rare occurrence around here to have the main service in a detached garage, and a subpanel in the house.

Carry on.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tankless water heater install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I also prefer to keep the grounds and neutrals separate in a main panel.
when you say 'separate' do you mean on separate bars in the main panel? or is the neutral insulated at the main?

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
brric (04-15-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water heater install Missouri Bound Plumbing 5 01-27-2012 10:39 PM
REplacing water heater - PV, DV, or Tankless? curls00 Plumbing 5 12-09-2010 12:21 PM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM
Installing a Tankless Water Heater infoiam Plumbing 4 11-10-2008 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.