Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 04:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Our neighborhoods builder was thinking ahead and wired all the houses for 400 amp service. We have 2 200amp panels.

I'm now looking at replacing the water heater and going tankless. The model I'm looking at requires 3 50amp circuits. It leads me to a question I haven't seen asked before.....


Is there some reason the circuits couldn't be split between the two panels? 2x50 on the first and 1x50 on the second? I guess the real question being, would there be an issue if one of the circuits was on a panel separate from the single ground connection?


I called the companies tech support line with the question and they punted suggesting I talk to my electrician. I explained there were no local dealers and I wanted to be sure before buying the unit and hiring an electrician. He gave me a wishy-washy answer that left me uncomfortable.


Any input would be really appreciated!

edentel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


No reason that I can think of.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,576
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Since you already have two panel you are in better shape than most. However, you may want to look at the operating costs vs using a gas fired on-demand WH.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 04:52 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by edentel View Post


Is there some reason the circuits couldn't be split between the two panels? 2x50 on the first and 1x50 on the second?
Is there a reason you want to split them up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by edentel View Post
I guess the real question being, would there be an issue if one of the circuits was on a panel separate from the single ground connection?
Do you have a 400 amp main disconnect of two 200 amp main disconnects? if the latter is true, then BOTH panels need to be bonded to the grounding electrode conductor.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:54 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Is there a reason you want to split them up?



Do you have a 400 amp main disconnect of two 200 amp main disconnects? if the latter is true, then BOTH panels need to be bonded to the grounding electrode conductor.
Because each panel has about 100A of stuff in it. What does it matter?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:56 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Because each panel has about 100A of stuff in it. What does it matter?
The OP did... Unless I'm just not getting what was typed below?

Quote:
Originally Posted by edentel View Post
I guess the real question being, would there be an issue if one of the circuits was on a panel separate from the single ground connection?

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:00 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Because each panel has about 100A of stuff in it. What does it matter?
Read the entire question before you edit the hell out of your quote.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:02 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


LOL...I saw that after I posted my comment and then edited it.

If this is a 400A service and it has 2 200A subs, then there shouldn't be any grounding electrodes in those panels.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:03 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post

If this is a 400A service and it has 2 200A subs, then there shouldn't be any grounding electrodes in those panels.
How do you come to that conclusion? if the two 200 amp panels ARE the grouped disconnects, then yes, they WILL contain the grounded electrode conductors.... meaning, there is no 400 amp main disconnect.



LOL, I think we just said the same thing...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-11-2012 at 05:06 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:05 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


You have corrected me again. My inexperience with 400A services is showing. I was thinking of a 400A main outside with subs inside. Sorry.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:07 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You have corrected me again. My inexperience with 400A services is showing. I was thinking of a 400A main outside with subs inside. Sorry.
No big deal, Im used to doing 320 amp services, we install two 200 amp main breaker panels next to each other...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 05:17 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


What we do in this situation is run the ground rods into one panel, the water ground into the other panel, a bare #4 jumper between the two panels and split bolt the jumper and the grounds together outside the panels.

As this sounds like it is a newer home, I'm going to assume that you don't have a water ground because the incoming water is in CPVC, thus the reason you only see on ground going into the panels. Is there any metal conduit between the two panels? Is there a jumper installed between the two that you aren't seeing?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:21 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Why all the discussion about sub and mains? WHY does this matter? Just curious.

Sure, you can pull the circuits from either or both panels.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Why all the discussion about sub and mains? WHY does this matter? Just curious.

Sure, you can pull the circuits from either or both panels.
It was in the op's original post, It seemed to be the focal point of the question asked to begin with, then the thread got really messy.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Tankless water heater with 2 200 amp panels


I missed that the first time too. The OP was questioning how his two panels were grounded because he only saw a ground going into one of the panels. That's how this discussion arose.

They always blame the electricians for making the mess....

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tankless water heater


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tankless hot water heater during winter when water shut off jdabs Plumbing 3 07-10-2012 12:50 AM
REplacing water heater - PV, DV, or Tankless? curls00 Plumbing 5 12-09-2010 12:21 PM
water heater drip kdange1 Plumbing 5 05-04-2010 03:24 PM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM
Tankless water heater - NEED HELP! LakersFreak Plumbing 39 11-16-2008 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.