Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 07:13 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Share |
Default

Tandem breaker use


Are tandem breakers only to be used in CTL panels? I noticed that they sell non-CTL breakers. I did some research and found out they are to be used for replacements only (CTL panels have only been around for 25 years). Is a tandem breaker against code/NEC?

pomelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:10 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Tandem breaker use


If your panel allows them, they can be used.
If the panel is listed as a 20/30, them tandems will fit.
If the panel is listed as 30/30, then tandoms will not fit.
The instructions on the panel, or cover will list the model number and the type of breakers allowed.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:16 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Tandem breaker use


CTL Circuit breaker-has physical size, configuration or other means which, in conjunction with the physical means provided in a class CTL assembly, is designed to prevent the installation of more circuit breaker poles than the number for whiich the assembly is designed and rated.

If the panel is designed for their use and the number of breakers does not exceed the number for which the panel is designed they are allowed.

Example: a panel may be designated a 30/40 breaker capacity. This would mean it can use 30 full size breakers or up to 20 full size breakers and 20 tandems resulting in a total of 40 poles used.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
redrover (03-20-2010)
Old 03-18-2010, 08:17 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Tandem breaker use


Sorry, jbfan, you beat me to it.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
tandem breaker MikeyP Electrical 11 06-29-2009 01:48 PM
Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem jmreynol Electrical 3 04-28-2009 07:06 PM
Tandem Breaker and Circuit(s) whowadat Electrical 1 01-09-2009 04:13 AM
Tandem breaker rusty_5620 Electrical 10 09-26-2007 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.