Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


I want to add a 220 line to an already full 100 amp panel. I know I can combine a few breakers with tandems to free up space. My question is this, I currently have a 220 breaker for my AC, is there a tandem breaker for 220 circuits? So I can just split the circuit I already have?
Thanks

rknerem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:41 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


They are usually quads if they supply 240 volts.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:41 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


Not all panels are listed for use with tandems.

Some brands may have a quad 240 breaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:50 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


The current 220 breaker is in slots that are marked to accept tandem breakers. So a quad breaker will create two separate 220v circuits the same way a tandem creates two 110.
rknerem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rknerem
The current 220 breaker is in slots that are marked to accept tandem breakers. So a quad breaker will create two separate 220v circuits the same way a tandem creates two 110.
Yes usually the 2 inner is for one line and the 2 outer are for the other line
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:08 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

tandem 220v breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rknerem View Post
The current 220 breaker is in slots that are marked to accept tandem breakers. So a quad breaker will create two separate 220v circuits the same way a tandem creates two 110.
What are the amperages?
"220" is a homeowner/handyman term, and is only half the equation. The amperage is the other.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a 220V two-gang outlet to 110V kevindd992002 Electrical 17 09-30-2011 06:17 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Murray main lug center - what type of tandem breaker? cl or ncl? plove79 Electrical 4 09-01-2010 08:08 PM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 01:18 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.