Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-13-2010, 04:18 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Taking wall down

I am thinking about removing a non-bearing wall between my kitchen and dining room. The wall has an outlet and switch on the dining room side and 3 outlets (2 regular and 1 GFI) on the kitchen side.

Before I rip the wall down, what is the best way to determine what is going on inside the wall and how do I determine whether I have "more" electical work that I am not able to do myself (I am not an electrician, but I have done several projects in my house that have passed electrical inspection....so I know a little bit about installing electric).

Thanks,
Doug

dubele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 04:28 PM   #2
J Calvin Construction

Taking wall down

Go in the basement/crawlspace and look up in the vicinity of the wall and count the wires going up. Likewise, go in the attic and look to see what goes down. At least that way you will know how many you have to deal with. There is no way to truely know until the wall covering is removed.

You hired WHO?
jcalvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 02:15 PM   #3

Taking wall down