T8 / T12 Same Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2010, 01:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


Hello, I installed 2 T12 fixtures in my garage last year. Recently I purchased 2 T8 fixtures to add on the same circuit. When I wire directly to the T12's and daisy chain to the T8's only the the T12's work. Likewise if I wire to the T8's first they work but the T12's do not. This is a dedicated 15amp circuit. Do the lights need to be on separate circuits. I have double and triple checked my connections. White on White, Black on Black.

Advertisement

Mars7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:04 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


I don't know what you are doing but having t12 and t8 lamped fixtures on the same circuit should not be a problem. I've had many situations with just such a mix and have never had a problem.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


Yeah, I have never had this problem before. This is pretty generic stuff. I will go back and check my connections again.
Mars7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 03:00 PM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


How did you "daisy chain" them exactly?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 03:17 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


The major gotcha is which white you did sang from ?? due some luminaire do have white comming from the tombstone { flourscent bulb holder } as far for the black it is should not a issue if done right and also the conductors they are very small on sizewise so it don't take much to get it broken at all.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 03:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


The T8's are plugged into an outlet. The secondary connections on the outlet, feed the first T12 from which I feed the 2nd T12.
Mars7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 03:21 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

T8 / T12 Same Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars7272 View Post
The T8's are plugged into an outlet. The secondary connections on the outlet, feed the first T12 from which I feed the 2nd T12.
If you done like that the other flourscent luminaire will not lit up and for secondary side the colours typically will be Bleu , Red , Yellow that is secondary and you do not use them that are for to hook up to the tombstone only noting else.

if you want to daisy chain them use the primary side. that will be black and white any other colours stop right there.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit , lighting , t 8 , t12


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 07:09 AM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts