Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 02:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

switchloop on older wiring


In the late 70 s early 80s on light circuits did they do the switchloop technique on single pole switches (white an black on switch)..I removed both on a few light switches all on light circuit and found each with neutral and hot on switches.
Does have copper to green screw also.

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

switchloop on older wiring


The white is not a neutral on the switch the black and white are both hot. The white wire should be recoded with black tape to signify it as a hot wire. It wasn't used only in the 70's/80's, it is/was done depending on whether the power comes into the switch box or the light box first.

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:10 PM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

switchloop on older wiring


It was certainly more common back in the 70s than it is now. Like teamo said, it usually just depends on whether the power feed is sent to the light fixture or switch box first.

One "problem" with switch loops is that no neutral is present at the switch. The white wire is used to bring power to the switch instead of serving as the Neutral. Many modern timer/occupancy switches require a neutral, and can't be used with this setup. I believe modern code (2008?) requires a neutral wire present at every light switch for this reason. This does not matter if the house was built before this code cycle; it is grandfathered in in that case.

Our house was built in 1976 and nearly every light is on a switch loop.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

switchloop on older wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
It was certainly more common back in the 70s than it is now. Like teamo said, it usually just depends on whether the power feed is sent to the light fixture or switch box first.

One "problem" with switch loops is that no neutral is present at the switch. The white wire is used to bring power to the switch instead of serving as the Neutral. Many modern timer/occupancy switches require a neutral, and can't be used with this setup. I believe modern code (2008?) requires a neutral wire present at every light switch for this reason. This does not matter if the house was built before this code cycle; it is grandfathered in in that case.

Our house was built in 1976 and nearly every light is on a switch loop.
Not in '08, Kyle. I think it's in "11 or upcomng in '14.

This is important. Many states and communities are on older versions of the NEC, and not everyone is required to adhere to this amendment. It's the same with AFCIs; in my County, they have specifically NOT REQUIRED them until an AFCI receptacle is readily available.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-15-2013)
Old 06-15-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

switchloop on older wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot

Not in '08, Kyle. I think it's in "11 or upcomng in '14.

This is important. Many states and communities are on older versions of the NEC, and not everyone is required to adhere to this amendment. It's the same with AFCIs; in my County, they have specifically NOT REQUIRED them until an AFCI receptacle is readily available.
Thanks for the clarification; forgot to mention that.
I personally don't have a problem with switch loops. Sometimes they are more convenient if you have an existing circuit already.

I believe AFCIs are now required in my area.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
Wiring in older house ? Piney Electrical 11 03-11-2007 11:56 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.