Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching problem...


I have a problem with my switching. Testing between neutral and phase at one switch, I get 230V, but at the 2nd switch I get nothing. It is definitely the same feed, I've traced it back and everything. What could be the problem? Would it be something to do with the neutrals? I'm lost.

Please help, I can't get my lights working!

Elsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Switching problem...


Take pics. Also, check voltage to ground as well and post those. What are the colors of the wires?

You should see 120V from Hot to Neutral and ground.

Protocol. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:30 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 3,118
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Switching problem...


Without know how you ran cables and connected the wires there is no way I can know what might be wrong.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:34 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Switching problem...


Bad or loose neutral. On a multi-wire circuit, or the entire house.

Are all the lights in the house not working, or just this one (2) circuit(s)?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 02:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching problem...


I'm in NZ, s it should be 230V not 120V...

Anyway, found the problem, there was a broken neutral in the roof. Cheers guys
Elsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:44 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Switching problem...


Wow guys and gals. You should have known he was in new Zealand from your psychic powers :D or it could just be I'm on my phone and can't see the location.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Switching problem...


Everyone should also be ashamed of themselves for not even mentioning looking for a broken neutral on the roof. That should be your first suggestion... Every time... gsssh

CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs fried: Electrical vs. Comcast Coax Cable Problem LynOprinka Electrical 17 07-16-2012 09:01 PM
Very Strange Shower Drain Problem MattWhite Plumbing 12 05-21-2011 12:53 PM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 07:42 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.