Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 04:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


Hi. I registered today because I was dealing with a professional electrician and quickely found out that I can not afford $ 6821.11 to have a fuse panel replaced and service upgrade from 100amp to 200amp. I live in Arkansas and thought that for my area of us that quote is about $3000.00 over plus he said I would have to purchase a thousand feet of triplex because no one sells it by the foot. My pole is only 32 feet from my fuse panel. So I have decided not to upgrade and replace the fuse panel myself and really need advice about this: do I replace each fuse with same equivalent amp rating breaker? And do any of you agree that nearly 7000.00 is a high quote for the job? And what DIY electric books do you recommend?

nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


Time for you to find a new electrician.
Was that price including the triplex or not?

You need at least 3 qoutes.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


That guy is out of his mind. Was his crack dealer waiting in the car for him?

As JB said, get a few other quotes and see what the real going price is.

WHY are you buying the triplex? That is the responsibility of the utility. Or is it coming from a customer pole?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
nonpro (08-09-2011)
Old 08-09-2011, 04:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Thumbs down

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


Thanks for quick response jbfan. The price quote did not include purchase of triplex. The electrician mentioned something about "working something out" as if he were doing a favor. Called several other companies none have called back yet. Is it legal for a person unlicensed to upgrade as long as they have someone inspect work afterwards? And who would the inspection come from? The electric company?
nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:32 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


Needing a license to do the work depends on your location.
Some areas do not require a license.

Usually the building department does the inspection, and contacts the power company for a reconnect.

Are you in an area where there are few electrical companys?

Ask friends and coworkers if they have used anyone, and the felt about them.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:09 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


By my accounts materials should not have cost more than $1500 so it appears they wanted to charge 40+ hours labor at $125 an hour. Well regardless of that. For my understanding before a purchase a book on how to just change to breakers : one of the boxes has two 30amp fuses feeding a wall heater they gauge at 250v. One fuse has the red wire the other fuse has the black wire and the white is on the nuetral strip. What or how is the breaker equivalent setup? As an example how would I wire that in the new box?
nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:27 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


I don't think changing a fused panel to a 200 amp breaker should be your first electrical project. Do you feel you can do this?
You will need new service wires from the transformer to a new meter base. Some of this is done by you and some by the PoCo.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


I've decided not to upgrade to 200 amp and simply change from fuses to a new breaker box keeping the 100amp service. Just thought I'd clean up the system so I could get insurance. Changing to 200 amp is necessary when I install central but I can wait on that. And I'll eliminate the electric stove and put in gas so 100amp should be fine. I figured changing a fuse system to breakers might as well upgrade. But not if it's that expensive
the Guy said he was reluctant to just change out boxes without upgrading. Well...sort of stuck doing it myself unless I can get some of these other companies to call me back.
nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:47 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


What I thought was strange was that the electrician stated that an upgrade to a 400amp system would be an additional $3000.00 . $10,000.00 !!! That seems really outrageous in any market. I think maybe California might even have a problem with that.
nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 06:12 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,792
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


No one here could possibly give a quote without knowing the FULL extent of the installation. From your OP you make it sound like a 30 minute job which I am sure it is not.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 06:29 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

switching muliple fuse panel to breaket box


Don't get me wrong. Please. I knew it would be expensive. Maybe 1500.00 just to change out the box probably a 8 hour job. So figure upgrade would be around 2500.00 to $3000.00. That seemed reasonable for a total cost of around 4000.00-5000.00. Like I said though that's my story of why I am attempting to change out the box myself and not upgrade.

nonpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire from Fuse panel to Stove sleepysmurf Electrical 2 08-10-2010 04:12 PM
electrical fuse panel Snell Lancaster Electrical 4 01-10-2010 11:20 AM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.