Switching From Fluorescent To Halogen Track Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


Hey all,

So I had these two ugly fluorescent fixtures. I removed both and tried installing halogen track lighting. Obviously it did not work and it shorted out.

http://www.homedepot.com/Lighting-Fa...&storeId=10051

So the switch turns on both, but I only need to hook up one fixture. I tried hooking it up to where the first fixture used to be, so it has two positives, two negatives and one ground. I essentially did nothing with the second one, which only has one positive, one negative and one ground.

What I am doing wrong? Do I need to eliminate the circuit going to the where the second fixture used to be? Or maybe hook up the new fixture to it instead?

Thanks.

Advertisement

thetallstewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


You will not need to connect the wiring going to where the second light was. What did you do with the unused connections?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


I capped the positive and negative on second light. Do I use a multimeter to figure out where the second circuit is? I.E, just touch red to positive and black to negative until I get a reading and the other two wires not being touched will be to the second light?
thetallstewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:34 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


If you capped both the black and the white together you created a dead short.

At the first box separate the two blacks. Only one pair of white and black should have power. The cable without power goes to the second light.

In AC you do not have positives and negatives.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


Sorry for the confusion, I did not cap them together, I just put a cap on each wire so that they wont touch.

I will eliminate the second circuit and see if that works.
thetallstewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:46 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


Those Halogens are going to use 5x more electricity than your fluorescents did....have you tried it with just one bulb in it?
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


The multimeter wasnt reading like it was supposed to, but was able to isolate the circuits, then everytime I would push up the fixture to the mounting the bracket, the circuit was short everytime, but finally got everything working.

Looks great and I have 5 bulbs hooked up which is what the kit came with. Should I worry about anything blowing up?
thetallstewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:56 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Switching from Fluorescent to Halogen Track Lighting


I would make sure the previous problem still did not exist. If any insulation was compromised I would make sure it was fixed.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen fluorescent to LED recessed lighting changeout speedytahiti Electrical 1 01-05-2012 08:04 PM
Halogen track lighting quit working Dialogdog Electrical 4 02-08-2010 10:20 PM
Dimmer for Halogen Track Lighting CompEngineer Electrical 2 12-04-2009 06:20 AM
LED track lighting feasible yet? GFW Electrical 8 01-22-2009 01:13 PM
Track Lighting newbie questions GFW Electrical 1 04-18-2008 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts