Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2013, 10:55 PM   #31
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Don't do it.
A gas cooktop might be nicer than electric, but gas ovens are terrible.
My wife wants to rip ous out and I am sympathetic.
FUD. I would have it no other way. Why do you think that all commercial kitchens have gas fired ovens, grills and broilers, in those areas that gas is chapter than electric.

Anyone that states that electric ovens are better than as, have not been taught properly how to use a gas applapiance, or had a bad gas range when growing up,or something bad happen when their parents were growing up, so now they have an inainte fear of them.

I am a huge foodie, and love having a gas stove over an electric.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 08:30 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Don't do it.
A gas cooktop might be nicer than electric, but gas ovens are terrible.
My wife wants to rip ous out and I am sympathetic.
I dont know why you say gas ovens are terrible. I can only surmise that users of your oven burn food or undercook food on a regular basis. Adjust your thermostat on your gas oven if you are having trouble with cooking food in it.

Now back to the poster's issue.
You have two choices:

1.Run a new circuit.
2.Tie into an existing circuit
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:12 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Hi; revisiting this topic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
The new outlet wiring really should be run up inside that wall.
I want to do this to the existing receptacle as well. The current receptacle assembly doesn't appear to be box-mountable. Can someone tell me what recess-mount receptacle and what size box I need to install?

The face of the existing receptacle looks like this:
https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/i...LZqe5DeHhKOtfW

Last edited by JKeefe; 01-04-2014 at 02:45 PM.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 02:44 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Anyone?
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 10:40 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Quote:
Originally Posted by JKeefe View Post
Can someone tell me what recess-mount receptacle and what size box I need to install?
Not shown is the receptacle cover plate
Attached Images
    
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 11:48 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Thanks... but that doesn't tell me what box size or receptacle type I need, and that is not the correct receptacle (see my linked photo of my plug).
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 01:09 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Switching from electric to gas range


Quote:
Originally Posted by JKeefe View Post
Thanks... but that doesn't tell me what box size or receptacle type I need, and that is not the correct receptacle (see my linked photo of my plug).
The receptacle that you need will mount just like the one in the photo. As far as a box I would use a 4" square as you would have a hell of a time folding those wires into a single gang box.

rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting electric range to dual-fuel? jmklump Appliances 6 12-28-2011 12:25 PM
Replacing an electric range with a gas range. hazardmf Appliances 2 10-09-2011 04:43 PM
Electric Range Breaker Size mkeehn64 Electrical 0 03-21-2011 09:46 AM
Wiring for electric range rgustavw Electrical 2 09-21-2010 03:18 AM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 06:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.