Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Share |
Question

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Hi! I am looking for some help here...

I am doing the wiring in new construction and want to make sure that I get this right (and the new service is not yet hooked up so I can't "test" it). This is my series:

BREAKER BOX-- plug-- plug--plug--switch--light---switch--light

I am using 14/2 wiring but IS THAT CORRECT?

How do I ensure that the first switch does NOT need to be on for the power to get to the second switch/light?

Hope this is enough info... thanks in advance!

cabinjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:54 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


BREAKER BOX-- plug-- plug--plug--switch--switch

That's the path for the power wires. The lights will have a separate 14/2 run from each switch.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:49 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


You can also go plug-plug-plug-light-light and drop down switch loops to switch the lights. I prefer going to the switch first but if it will save a bunch of wire i will do it with switch loops.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Sorry to be dense...

But where are the lights in the scenario:
BREAKER BOX-- plug-- plug--plug--switch--switch

Because how would the switch "know" which light to control?
Is it that the switch boxes would have 1 incoming wires and two outgoing wires? Still don't get the power flow though

Last edited by cabinjunkie; 08-07-2009 at 09:30 PM.
cabinjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:30 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


i bet your scared to do plumbing but not afraid of wiring right?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


wow that was super helpful... are you on this site to ridicule those who are learning? nice
cabinjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:06 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinjunkie View Post
wow that was super helpful... are you on this site to ridicule those who are learning? nice
of course not... I am here to help, its just that your taking on a bit too much no?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Both posts are missing anything that looks like help
cabinjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 08:34 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


junkie:

We would use 14-2 for the runs between receptacles, and from the outlets to the switch. Then use a section of 14-3 from the 1st switch to the 1st light. Use the red wire to control the light:


BREAKER BOX-- plug-- plug--plug--switch--light---switch--light
Use a piece of 14-3 wire right here ------ ^


But don't do this in a kitchen or dining room.....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 09:49 AM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


I do partially agree with Chris, electrical is not something you want to try with trial and error. If you are unsure of yourself please get an electrican to look over your work, electricity can and will kill in the right situation.

Now onto to your question you would run

Breaker-14/2-Plug-14/2-Plug-14/2-Plug-14/2-Switch 1-14/2-Switch 2
| |
14/2 to Light 14/2 to Light

So in switch 1 you would have 3 wires, the feed in the feed out and your light drop. The last switch would have only two wires.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:03 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


I also agree with Chris. Sorry if this offends you junkie.
You say you are wiring new construction yet you have no idea how to wire a simple basic circuit? Don't you think you should have the basics down first?

I know this does not "help" you, but I think constructive criticism can be helpful as well.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:23 AM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Junkie

So far those who have replied are among the best (and deservedly so) electricians this site has to offer. Chris is worried about your ability to wire new construction based on the simple question you are asking. Electricity isn't plumbing where if wrong it only leaks water and does't burn your house down or kill you.

Unfortunately you still don't understand what to do even though Kbsparky has pretty much laid it out. I think what you actually need is a diagram showing the connections, wire colors etc...

I can do that as can the others if you want. Problem is if your doing the service entrance and breaker panel installation for this cabin you really are taking on more than you should.

Before we consider doing that can you give us a bit more detail on what your doing? You say this cabin is going to have a service (not hooked up yet) which means it will need to follow the codes for a dwelling. And will require a bit more knowledge than a simple branch circuit for lights and receptacles. Are you doing the service entrance from meter to main panel?

We will need to know also if the switches are in the same box side by side or if they are not and in different rooms. Are these lights and receptacles going to be in bedrooms or bathrooms or kitchens??

I also know that your going to find someone to try to help you and will probably do this with or without help from this forum.

As informational... though we are a DIY site it does not mean we are negligent in following safe wiring practices and following the required codes. We generally will help anyone that asks but understand we have to be discretionary at times. Also understand that unless you are in an area that doesn't require code inspections (very very few of those areas left) you are required to have home/cabin owner permits to perform the electrical and get those installations inspected.

Having said that we are here to help you based on NEC requirements but you frankly and not to be condescending are borderline in knowledge based on your question. It doesn't appear that you have read any books or have any practical experience with the simplest of wiring design.

Again I do no mean this as insulting we can help you but need some more information....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:48 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Thanks to those who replied with information and clarification (i.e. HouseHelper, darren and KB). I've got it!

I have no problem with constructive criticism...
and don't worry I am having an electrician check my work, all I am doing is pulling the wire to the switches/plugs/lights and a liscensed elctrician is doing the rest! And despite having a beginner book, it doesn't explain how to put plugs and lights together (despite this being allowed by the code).
It's the mocking that I take issue with (i.e. Chris). I have yet to see a response from him that even comes close to help.

PS: Stubbie's comment that "KB explained it and you still don't get it" is not accurate at all... check out the time of posts!

Thanks again HouseHelper, darren and KB!
cabinjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:54 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


You're welcome.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 12:15 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

switches and plugs on same circuit-- how?


Myself I do not put lights & outlets on the same circuit
Just my preference

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When should I verify getting good Ground? DarkDune Electrical 12 06-12-2009 10:01 AM
receptacle circuit problem jsherrill77 Electrical 22 12-25-2008 09:16 AM
Switching the Plugs in Bath Fan/Light MrBill_DIY Electrical 3 12-01-2008 06:45 PM
Replacing a circuit breaker PaulGray Electrical 3 05-13-2006 09:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.