Switches - Just Checking - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2008, 10:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switches - Just Checking


I'm redoing some drywall in the bathroom and I came across this setup on two switches. 12/3 romex jumped across the two switches.



I have been told it's okay to use the same setup (with new box and switches), though I should pigtail into each of the switches rather than jumping directly from switch to switch. Is that correct?

I also have a small electric floor heater that the previous owner had installed. The house is a forced-air gas furnace, so this must have just been to keep her feet warm in the winter? The switch for the heater is a stud away from the box shown above.

My plan is to remove the floor heater and use that power to run a bathroom fan in the attic. I am going to install a new three-gang box where the old two-gang (above) was and then run some new 12/2 from the old heater switch to the new fan. Can I tie the ceiling fan neutral into the ceiling light in the attic?

Thanks for your help! I've read a lot on this site in the past, but this is the first time I've ever had to actually ask a question.

Advertisement

fuzzmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 11:25 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switches - Just Checking


The two switch setup will work fine as you describe. The white is the hot with red and black as switch legs. You should also recolor the white.

What exactly do you mean by
Quote:
Can I tie the ceiling fan neutral into the ceiling light in the attic?
You should use the neutral for the old heater for the new fan and keep neutrals from other circuits separated.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switches - Just Checking


That's what I was looking for, thanks!
fuzzmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switches - Just Checking


There is one problem I see here. You can't put 2 wires on one screw, have to pigtail the neutral.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:17 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switches - Just Checking


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
There is one problem I see here. You can't put 2 wires on one screw, have to pigtail the neutral.
It is likely that the wire is looped from one to the other, instead of two separate wires.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switches - Just Checking


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
It is likely that the wire is looped from one to the other, instead of two separate wires.

Oh, I see it now, it looks ok then.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:42 PM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switches - Just Checking


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
There is one problem I see here. You can't put 2 wires on one screw, have to pigtail the neutral.
But it's NOT a neutral... it's the constant hot (should be remarked).
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 02:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switches - Just Checking


Thanks everybody. Yes, that is the constant hot. I am going to pigtail it and mark it as such.

The fan is on a separate circuit and it's going to get its own hot/neutral.

Advertisement

fuzzmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
50+ year old home-all light switches one-way? mudpaw Electrical 13 06-22-2008 02:57 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 10:40 PM
grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box wkend2 Electrical 3 03-05-2008 01:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts