Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-12-2007, 09:51 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

switches

hi folks, newbie here. have a ques. regarding 3-ways. i recently wanted to change the s swtiches by my back door, bought new white ones. 2 of the switches have a black wire connecting them together, one is the porch light and one is the garage light(outside the door),when you ;eave the swith in thr garae on you can contol it from the back door. when you turn the other one on the porch light goes out and the other stays on , theose have black and whit. the middle swich is my inside ceiling fan 3way with a swtch across the kitchen .this swtich has a red,black white. they are eagle brand. the new white ones are frome lowes-cooper brand. when i changed the switches .one wire at a time. the white wires were on the black screws the blacks were on the brass .when i put them in exactly, the porch light stayed on ,somehow the swtich was by -passed ,and the kithchen light (the middle swtch) on did not workae all the only one that worked was the garage light. I had a similar problem in the hallway sithing the old switches for new white ones(again cooper) in the hall, put in the new swtich (also a 3-way it was replacing) lost the 3 way capacity,now you can only put the light on and off from the swtich that initiated it ,can't turn it on here and walk down the hall and trun it off ther??is something different with the new swtches? seems the new swithes from cooper don't work like the inesthat are already there, mostly eagle? I spray painted them and put them back,all is well. any ideas why the new swtiches did not work? I am stumped,and am not very electrically savvy.

tcseacliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 10:07 AM   #2
Seasoned Noob

Rewards Points: 77

switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcseacliff View Post