Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Plumb or Die!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 321
Share |
Default

switched wall plug not working


Updating our living room and replacing old ugly wall plugs with new Decora Leviton 5325's. One of the outlets on a receptical was switched and I thought I was being careful to watch what wires went where so I wouldn't screw up. I screwed up, unless this type of wall plug isn't designed for this application.

I have a red, black and white wire plus ground. All the other ones I did worked (nonswitched), and have only black and white wires. Any ideas? Help a plumber out!!

plumber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

switched wall plug not working


There should be a tab, a jumper, between the screws on the sides of the outlet. You need to remove the one on the hot side, between the black and red wires.

With the tab in place the switched portion of the outlet is always hot.

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:33 PM   #3
Plumb or Die!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 321
Default

switched wall plug not working


That makes total sense, I forgot about the jumpers when I replaced some switches in another room last year. I'll try it and get back to you.
plumber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:14 AM   #4
Plumb or Die!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 321
Default

switched wall plug not working


Didn't work. Then I checked all the other plugs I already changed, and found another one that was switched too, Busted off that ones jumper, and was all good to go! Thanks so much!!
plumber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:30 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

switched wall plug not working


It don't take much to overlook that one and just remeber when you replace the next one always take a quick look at the old one somecase it will remind you the conferation of the receptale and connections.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:57 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

switched wall plug not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber666 View Post
Didn't work. Then I checked all the other plugs I already changed, and found another one that was switched too, Busted off that ones jumper, and was all good to go! Thanks so much!!
Glad you got it. Thanks!

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with staggered wall rightit Building & Construction 2 03-09-2011 06:23 PM
Building a half wall: 2 questions kbizzle Carpentry 7 02-19-2011 08:22 AM
switched plug dm18 Electrical 1 10-31-2010 06:18 AM
Running speaker wire from attic into exterior wall: Techniques? homerb Home Theater 1 07-15-2010 01:55 PM
Wall outlet not working Bubby106 Electrical 7 11-25-2008 08:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.