Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 05:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


I have an existing duplex receptacle in which both halves are switched (via a single switch). This is a middle of the run receptacle. It is currently wired as follows:

Coming in from the left (from another, unswitched outlet), there is one black (hot) and one White. From the right, there is one red (switched) and one black (hot). The white is attached to one of the neutral terminals and red to one of the hot terminals. Both tabs are still intact. The two black wires are connected via a wire nut. Thus, the switch turns on/off both outlets.

I'm trying to figure out how to have only half of the outlet switched. My guess is that i need to break the tab, connect hot to one half and the switched wire to the other. But this leaves me with a spare hot, which I assume needs to be connected to the other hot. So do i need to add a small piece of black wire so that the two exising hots and the new wire can be connected together via the wire nut?

Thanks for you help.

stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 05:26 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by stuvwxyz99 View Post
I have an existing duplex receptacle in which both halves are switched (via a single switch). This is a middle of the run receptacle. It is currently wired as follows:

Coming in from the left (from another, unswitched outlet), there is one black (hot) and one White. From the right, there is one red (switched) and one black (hot). The white is attached to one of the neutral terminals and red to one of the hot terminals. Both tabs are still intact. The two black wires are connected via a wire nut. Thus, the switch turns on/off both outlets.

I'm trying to figure out how to have only half of the outlet switched. My guess is that i need to break the tab, connect hot to one half and the switched wire to the other. But this leaves me with a spare hot, which I assume needs to be connected to the other hot. So do i need to add a small piece of black wire so that the two exising hots and the new wire can be connected together via the wire nut?

Thanks for you help.
Break the tab. Pigtail the black and connect it to whichever terminal the red is not connected to.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stuvwxyz99 (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Break the tab. Pigtail the black and connect it to whichever terminal the red is not connected to.
Thanks. "Pigtail" means connect a brand new length of wire, correct?
stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 05:56 PM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


yes, put the existing blacks, and a short (6-8") piece of wire to go to the receptacle together with a connector of your choice
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
stuvwxyz99 (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 06:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
yes, put the existing blacks, and a short (6-8") piece of wire to go to the receptacle together with a connector of your choice
Great. Thanks to you and electures. This is my first time wiring any sort of receptacle
stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:12 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by stuvwxyz99

Great. Thanks to you and electures. This is my first time wiring any sort of receptacle
Make sure you turn power off first.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stuvwxyz99 (09-25-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 07:18 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Make sure you turn power off first.
Yup, got it.
stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:56 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
yes, put the existing blacks, and a short (6-8") piece of wire to go to the receptacle together with a connector of your choice
The existing (15A) receptacle is wired with 14 AWG wire. Is it ok to use 12 AWG wire for the pigtail? The wire nut would connect both 14 AWG along with the 12 AWG, and then the 12 AWG would also connect to one of the terminals on the receptacle.
stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:58 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Switched Receptacle wiring advice required


Quote:
Originally Posted by stuvwxyz99 View Post
The existing (15A) receptacle is wired with 14 AWG wire. Is it ok to use 12 AWG wire for the pigtail? The wire nut would connect both 14 AWG along with the 12 AWG, and then the 12 AWG would also connect to one of the terminals on the receptacle.
SOunds good.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stuvwxyz99 (09-25-2012)
Reply

Tags
outlet, switched, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way Switch to always hot receptacle - wiring trouble Waterfroggy Electrical 7 05-07-2012 10:00 PM
Need help wiring a switched outlet Cmesposito Electrical 15 04-14-2012 10:33 AM
Thermostat wiring advice tsugacanadensis HVAC 2 11-04-2008 07:04 AM
Hello...I need wiring advice bradeja Home Theater 8 02-14-2008 04:24 PM
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 04:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.