Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Switched Receptacle Question


I tried to replace a worn-out receptacle today, but am having a small problem, which I am sure is quite simple for anyone but a novice like myself. The top half of the receptacle is controlled by a wall switch.

On the brass terminal side, the old receptacle had a red wire connected to one of the two upper push-in slots, and two black wires connected to the two lower push-in slots. There were two white wires connected to the push-in slots on the silver terminal side of the receptacle.

Since this is a switched receptacle, I guess I need to remove the connector tab between the top and bottom halves of the receptacle. But my new receptacle only has one push-in slot -- I usually prefer to use the terminals anyway. If I connect the red wire to the upper brass terminal, how do I connect both black wires to the lower terminal? Use a jumper from the lower brass terminal and connect the black wires with a wire nut?

Thanks for your help.

MrBill_DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,137
Rewards Points: 3,068
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Switched Receptacle Question


If the receptacle only has a one screw terminal then you need to nut the two black wires with a third short black wire which is connected to the terminal.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Switched Receptacle Question


Okay, thanks, that's what I did. I suppose you could also connect one black wire to the brass terminal and the other one to the slot. But I wasn't sure whether that is allowed.
MrBill_DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:07 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Switched Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill_DIY View Post
Okay, thanks, that's what I did. I suppose you could also connect one black wire to the brass terminal and the other one to the slot. But I wasn't sure whether that is allowed.
That would be allowed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isolated Ground Receptacle Bocolo Electrical 40 01-23-2012 03:44 PM
Outdoor Receptacle Box Question RST Electrical 1 10-17-2010 09:18 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 19 12-20-2008 07:20 PM
Question with wiring up a flood light. SuperAkuma Electrical 6 09-20-2008 11:58 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.