Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 11:34 AM   #1
Osh
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

switched outlet's


Not the sharpest knive in the sock drawer so here goes. Recently repainted room that had 5 outlets, one half of each outlet was switched. I replaced all outlets one at a time no I wouldn't get confused with wireing setup. Switched outlets didn't work so searched the internet and found I should have cut the connection between the brass terminals. Did all except 1 behind bed. tested outlets on either side of the hidden outlet and still no joy. Is that the culprit?

wireing is the following.

1st outlet in room has 1red 1white and 1yellow

2nd, 4th and I assume 3rd that I can't get to have 2 of each color

5th outlet has 2 reds 2whites and 1 yellow
switch has 1 of each with white and yellow on same terminal, same as 1st outlet in room.

Shouldn't be this difficult , any help appreciated. All outlets have power full time.

Osh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,930
Default

switched outlet's


Do they now still all have power all of the time?

Start over with your description, with a separate paragraph for each outlet and what wires are connected where. (not groups such as "second and third are like this".)

Be sure that wire ends are curved to wrap around the screws but not sticking out to touch the next screw or nearby metal not under the proper screw.

You're sure you snapped off the metal tabs connecting screw terminals next to each other in the same way the old receptacle (outlet) units were done?

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:03 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,977
Default

switched outlet's


The 1 receptacle that you did not remove the brass tab is back feeding to the other receptacles. Break the tab in that 5th receptacle.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:37 PM   #4
Osh
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Default

switched outlet's


Rjniles, that was the answer. Thanks alot.
Osh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Wiring two switched outlets. drken Electrical 3 08-01-2011 08:01 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 08:49 PM
series of 1/2 switched outlets chiefsfantrish Electrical 20 08-16-2010 12:08 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.