Switched Outlet Series - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 11:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switched outlet series


First post but long-time lurker! Wiring question:

I have power going to outlet 1 (14/2) -> parallel through outlet -> outlet 2/switch (full) using 14/2

I want to switch the outlet 1 too (for a second floor lamp). Both will be full switched.

Tried pigtailing hots and running the neutrals through the outlet 1. CFLs flickered. One will work at a time, but not both. Both need to be plugged in to complete the circuit though.

Pigtailing hots and pigtailing neutrals at outlet 1 works perfectly (essentially removing the outlet 1).

Where am I going wrong?

Wired my whole basement previously and passed inspection, but this has me stumped for some reason. Should have worked right away.

Looking to wire:

Power (14/2) - wall sconce - wall sconce - outlet - outlet -switch ALL operated by the end switch. Fishing new wire is not a viable option in this case.

Thanks!

Advertisement

Overkll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 11:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switched outlet series


Cliff notes:

Power (14/2) - LAMP1 - LAMP2 - OUTLET 1 (Hot) - OUTLET 2 (Full switch) - SWITCH

How can I wire EVERYTHING to be operated by the switch?

Thanks!

Advertisement

Overkll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 11:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Switched outlet series


Quote:
Originally Posted by Overkll View Post
First post but long-time lurker! Wiring question:

I have power going to outlet 1 (14/2) -> parallel through outlet -> outlet 2/switch (full) using 14/2

I want to switch the outlet 1 too (for a second floor lamp). Both will be full switched.

Tried pigtailing hots and running the neutrals through the outlet 1. CFLs flickered. One will work at a time, but not both. Both need to be plugged in to complete the circuit though.

Pigtailing hots and pigtailing neutrals at outlet 1 works perfectly (essentially removing the outlet 1).

Where am I going wrong?

Wired my whole basement previously and passed inspection, but this has me stumped for some reason. Should have worked right away.

Looking to wire:

Power (14/2) - wall sconce - wall sconce - outlet - outlet -switch ALL operated by the end switch. Fishing new wire is not a viable option in this case.

Thanks!
You need 3 wire cable between the box where the power comes in and the box where the switch cable goes into. Alternatively a second 2 wire cable betwee the box where the power comes in and the box where the switch cable goes into.

Otherwise you cannot do what you described.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:52 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Switched outlet series


I am with AllanJ on this, with one caveat: this probably cannot be done with CONVENTIONAL WIRING TECHNIQUES, given that you have only 2-conductor wiring between boxes.

If you are willing to purchase devices (switches, outlets, etc) that can communicate with each other via powerline or RF, then your options are a bit less limiting. Figure about $50 per device and five devices (two lights, two outlets, one switch).
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:38 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switched outlet series


Thanks for the replies! Not the easy answer I was looking for, but about what I expected.

Putting the second outlet into series and using identical bulbs for each of the fixtures works. Would using the same wattage on each fixture work? There is power, but the two lamps that I have been using are tri-light CFL. Turning the tri-light turns both lamps off and on in various states of brightness (voltage through first fixture is not constant).

I ask about this second method since it would essentially replicate a series of pot lights with no through power. One light goes out, they all go out.


The difficulty in running new wire is the bottom plate of one wall is parallel to the basement joists and blocked from access due to the second joist and the top plate is inaccessible due to the shallow roof slope. Going to eventually re-wire the whole house, but was hoping to get this to work for now. Original sconces were source-switched and basically unused due to location.

Thanks again!
Overkll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Branching off Switched Outlet BaconK5 Electrical 7 01-22-2010 06:56 AM
Outside: Adding an outlet to a switched light fixture indigo Electrical 9 12-15-2009 10:48 AM
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 01:53 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts