Switched Outlet With Humidistat. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 09:27 AM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Switched Outlet with humidistat.


Can I use a humidistat as a switch for a receptical?
My situation is that I've got an old dehumidifier that works fine with the exception of the humidistat; the dehumidifer doesn't shut off. I found a humidistat that's rated for 7.4 amps. The unit draws 5.2 amps (verified with Killawatt). I thought I could either redirect the wiring to the new humidstat and mount it on the unit itself or take an existing outlet and switch it with the humidistat. Would this need to be a dedicated circuit?

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 05:50 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Switched Outlet with humidistat.


No. This would be a bad idea.

Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 05:56 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Switched Outlet with humidistat.


I thought that this was against code, but I can't find any references.

I still think it is a bad idea. I would be concerned that something would get plugged in that draws more than the rating of the humidistat.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:20 PM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Switched Outlet with humidistat.


That's a good point. It would be the same as running 18 or 20 guage wire to a switched outlet.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
outlet made a pop, spark, tripped breaker-need to fix louisemr Electrical 1 06-13-2007 08:58 PM
Turning Switched Outlet Into Ceiling Fixture 39centstamp Electrical 10 06-08-2007 01:07 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 11:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 05:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts