Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2007, 03:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Switch Wiring


Hello all, I have a threater room with six overhead lights as pictured below.

http://img136.imageshack.us/my.php?i...elightsmh4.jpg


These are recessed lighting and the back three is connected with 14/3 cable. A 14/3 cable also comes from the back set to the first light in the front set. The power in (14/2) cable comes in at the center front lights.

A 14/3 comes from the center light to the switch with the white wire labeled as hot.


my issue is, there is two regular toggle switch to control each set separately, however, is there anyway that this can be wire so I still have a neutral wire at the switch or do I have to pull in a separate neutral?

This is in a finnish environment. I have remote control dimmer switched that needs a neutral wire to operate and i need to control both sets with two switches.

I have all the recessed fixtures out and have access to all the connections.

Thanks


Last edited by matrix733; 12-22-2007 at 03:17 PM.
matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 04:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


I'm pretty sure your gonna have to run another wire to your switch to get your neutral. As i understand you have a 14-3 running to the switch from one of the lights. One wire is the hot and the other 2 are switchlegs controlling the 2 sets of lights. The only way around this that I can see is to make all the lights operate on 1 switch which you will be able to eliminate one of your switchlegs and turn it into a neutral to send down to your switch. You will have to retie in your cans accordingly. If you decide to just run another wire to send a neutral down to the switch just tie your neutral in with one of the neutrals in any one of the cans. You can just cap off the black wire because you dont need another hot

RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 05:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


Yeah...you're stuck. I HATE when they wire like that.



Quote:
If you decide to just run another wire to send a neutral down to the switch

If you decide to just run another CABLE to send a neutral down to the switch....
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 05:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


ok, I remove my baseboards, cut out the drywall thats not visible when the baseboards are back in place and ran a 14/2 to a nearby outlet and use that neutral and it works, is this acceptable?

Thanks
matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 05:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix733 View Post
ok, I remove my baseboards, cut out the drywall thats not visible when the baseboards are back in place and ran a 14/2 to a nearby outlet and use that neutral and it works, is this acceptable?

Thanks

Same circuit?


Heh heh...I was just posting on this exact scenario in another thread.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 06:13 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


All of the circuit conductors should be run together. Just grabbing a neutral, even if it is from the same circuit, would not be correct.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 07:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


Quote:
All of the circuit conductors should be run together. Just grabbing a neutral, even if it is from the same circuit, would not be correct.
"Should be run together" or "shall be run together"?

"Correct" as in "code compliant"?


Code violation or just unorthodox? Just curious. I honestly don't know.



He could also simply rewire and use the new feed from the outlet and disconnect it/remake up at the light JB. Of course "simply" is a relative term ESPECIALLY with recessed cans.

You could also just use a different style of dimmer.

Last edited by 220/221; 12-22-2007 at 07:49 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:01 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


You are OK as long as it is on the same circuit. There shall be no 'jacking of neutrals from other circuits.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch Wiring


Thanks, same circuit = ok

matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring Question bhpizza Electrical 4 08-07-2007 05:51 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Ceiling Fixture / Switch Wiring gregger Electrical 1 10-21-2006 07:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.