Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


I added a wire to an existing connection in the attic in order to mount a light fixture in our dining room.

When the switch is turned on, the volt meter reads 120 volts between the black/white wires in the ceililng mount box.

When the switch is turned off, the voltmeter reads 25 volts between the black/white wires in the ceiling mount box.

Any ideas for the 25 volt reading on the voltmeter when the switch is in the off position? Would it be okay to mount and hook up the light fixture with the 25 volt reading?

Here is a picture for the connection.
http://i51.tinypic.com/2d122xj.jpg


Thanks for your help,
Tom

thomas_1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


Does the switch turn the light on and off? If the switch is correctly operating the light, don't worry about it; it's phantom voltage.

BTW: why is there a single Black wire connected to a group of Whites?


Last edited by sirsparksalot; 06-09-2011 at 12:20 AM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:56 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


The other thing is you denfienly need a junction box on this one as soon I hit the link and I can see where this is going and you have a switch loop allready

Do you want the ceiling fan to be unswitched { use the pull chain for the fan control } ? and the new luminaire to be switched controlled then you have to resort it and get it correct otherwise if you hook them up wrong you can trip the breaker or pop the fuse out.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:48 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Does the switch turn the light on and off? If the switch is correctly operating the light, don't worry about it; it's phantom voltage.

BTW: why is there a single Black wire connected to a group of Whites?
Hi Sirsparksalot,

I hooked the light fixture up today and it works fine using the light switch. I won't worry about the phantom voltage as you say.

The black wire connected to the group of whites goes to the light fixture.

The white wire going to the light fixture is connected to the white wire on the switch wire. Is this connected correctly?

Thanks,
Tom
thomas_1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The other thing is you denfienly need a junction box on this one as soon I hit the link and I can see where this is going and you have a switch loop allready

Do you want the ceiling fan to be unswitched { use the pull chain for the fan control } ? and the new luminaire to be switched controlled then you have to resort it and get it correct otherwise if you hook them up wrong you can trip the breaker or pop the fuse out.

Merci,
Marc
Hi Marc,

A junction box would most definitely be beneficial as you suggest. I don't know what a switch loop is.

Yes, I want the ceiling fan to be unswitched as we can use the pull chain to control it. The ceiling fan is hot and work fine now. The luminaire now works properly with the light switch.

Thanks,
Tom
thomas_1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:12 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

switch turned off - still voltage


There is a bunch of thing wrong with this setup.
As it is wired now the shell of the light socket is hot. If you were to unscrew a bulb with the power on the exposed threaded portion would be live.

The white wire to the light should go to the bunch of whites.
The black wire the light should go to the black wire from the switch.
The white wire from the switch should go the bunch of black wires.

You must have a junction box. This is called a flying splice and is not permitted by code.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Switch now controls large area... froddan Electrical 5 12-06-2009 10:04 PM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 05:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.