Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 11:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


How would I switch, or preferably switch/timer a 220v garage heater such as this? looking for some way to turn it off should I forget to do so. I am thinking a timer that provides the functionality of like a bathroom fan - turns on for 60 minutes, then shuts off.

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...age-_-Products

Thoughts or suggestions?

thx!
Vince

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:34 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


You could incorporate a timer like this for the heater.
http://www.nsipolaris.com/tork/elecmech.aspx

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
You could incorporate a timer like this for the heater.
http://www.nsipolaris.com/tork/elecmech.aspx

Hmmm.. not quite what I was looking for, these are for preset recurring schedules - such as with a pool timer application. I do see where they have occupancy sensors at the same vendor/site, which may be of interest... Hmmm..
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:32 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?



Do you mean something like this? Just google timer switch or go to intermatic.com
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post

Do you mean something like this? Just google timer switch or go to intermatic.com
Yes! I had searched but was not finding a double pole version. Appears Intermec has them, in up to 6 and 12 hour max timer that will handle 20 amps. Their FF46H should be just the item for the need. Thanks!
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:39 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


The other way I will do is use the contractor and use the timer as above so the timer will able engerized the contractor to get the heater on when the timer goes off the contractor will turn off that way the contractor can handle a bit of load compare the timer some case it will handle ok some case not.

That is the other way you can do that.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


On further reflection, not sure this has the capacity needed. I am wanting to switch a 220v heater that plugs into a 220v 20 amp outlet.

The specifications say 20 amp at 125 VAC or 10 amp at 277 VAC or... and then there is a tungsten rating of 7 amps at 120 VAC...

Please help me understand this...

http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/fi...tructions.ashx
Attached Thumbnails
Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?-intermatic-ff46h.jpg  

Last edited by vsheetz; 11-30-2009 at 11:58 PM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 12:41 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Unforetally I did read it and someone make a typo from factory and your timer you are looking at 240 volt that is only 10 amps so that is out of the queston however my suggest that you keep that timer and get a contractor { relay } the contractor will handle much more current than the timer can handle especially on 240 volts loads.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Are not the specifications per leg? Thus the rating, per leg, would be enough for a 220v 20 amp recep?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 08:31 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Are not the specifications per leg? Thus the rating, per leg, would be enough for a 220v 20 amp recep?

Nope the total load due they set in total wattage as you noted 20 amp on 120 volts while 240 volt load is rated at 10 amp so the wattage stay the same but the amparage drop in half so that make sense.

I will look for Hevey duty 20 amp 240 volt double pole timer due I am pretty sure that timer you look at it is single pole.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Unforetally I did read it and someone make a typo from factory and your timer you are looking at 240 volt that is only 10 amps so that is out of the queston however my suggest that you keep that timer and get a contractor { relay } the contractor will handle much more current than the timer can handle especially on 240 volts loads.

Merci,Marc
You mean a CONTACTOR with a 220v. Coil. To switch the entire (220v.) circuit. Otherwise it is against code to switch only part of the circuit! (Just clarifying for the OP)!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and/or timer for 220v garage heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Nope the total load due they set in total wattage as you noted 20 amp on 120 volts while 240 volt load is rated at 10 amp so the wattage stay the same but the amparage drop in half so that make sense.

I will look for Hevey duty 20 amp 240 volt double pole timer due I am pretty sure that timer you look at it is single pole.

Merci,Marc
This spec came from a double pole timer, and was the highest amperage I found on the Intermatic site.

If anyone can point me to a double pole time that can handle a 240 volt 20 amp recpt it would be much appreciated.

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 07:39 AM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 08:31 PM
Radiant Tube Heater for Garage feavs HVAC 7 11-02-2008 09:24 PM
$59 "vent free" heater for garage? pcampbell HVAC 2 03-26-2008 03:24 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.