Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Switch or something else? Please Help


I have a wall mounted single pole decora switch that operates the light on my ceiling fan for the master bedroom. There is also a separate switch for the operation of the fan. Both switches are in a duplex box. Here is my problem. When I turn the switch on, the light comes on for only an instant, then goes out. If I turn the switch back off then back to on, the light works perfectly. I replaced the switch with a brand new switch, same problem. I rewired the switch to the screw terminals and not the clamp ons when I replaced the switch, no fix. I removed both switches from the box and checked all of the connections, no fix. I rewired all of the receptacles on the circuit to the screw terminals instead of the clamp ons, no fix. I checked the wires in the ceiling fan box. Still have the same problem. What am I missing?

gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Remove both wires from the light switch and wire nut them together. What is the result?
Attached Thumbnails
Switch or something else? Please Help-switch-loop.jpg  

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Or you may have power coming into the switch location so something like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Switch or something else? Please Help-switch-eliminated-befor-after-power-into-switch.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:57 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Will try tonight. Thanks
gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:09 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,888
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


I suspect the issue is with the fan itself. To prove, swap the fan and light wiring in the ceiling box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gkmcgurl (03-25-2013)
Old 03-25-2013, 03:12 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


will try, thanks
gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 03:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,387
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Did you do anything before the problem showed up ? ( e.g. change from incandescent bulbs to CFL's.)
Regardless of the answer above, what bulbs are in it now ?

How old is the fan ? Was it purchased before or after 1/1/09 ?
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


rjniles: I did what you recommended and swapped the wires in the ceiling box. The same thing happened on the light. I am guessing that is telling me that the fan is bad. Is that correct?
gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:09 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Oso954: The fan is just over two years old. It has 2 candelabra bulbs in it.
gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:31 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,888
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by gkmcgurl View Post
rjniles: I did what you recommended and swapped the wires in the ceiling box. The same thing happened on the light. I am guessing that is telling me that the fan is bad. Is that correct?
You mean the light had the same issues on the new switch. Pull the light kit off the fan and see if there are any electronic devices in the light circuit.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gkmcgurl (03-25-2013)
Old 03-25-2013, 06:41 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


There appears to be some type of black plastic box in the light kit. I don't know what this does. Everything else are switches and wires
gkmcgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:50 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by gkmcgurl View Post
There appears to be some type of black plastic box in the light kit. I don't know what this does. Everything else are switches and wires
Some of the ceiling fans luminaires do have watt limiter to limit the amout of max wattage it can be used in the luminaire.

What type of light bulb you have ?

Indentscent or CFL or LED and what wattage it is ?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 12:39 AM   #13
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,387
Default

Switch or something else? Please Help


Does your black plastic box look something like this ?
If yes, it is a wattage limiter.
If you have CFL's in there, they are probably exacerbating the problem. Try running some incandescents and see what happens.

If you have incandescents in it, the wattage limiter has gone bad. I would call the MFG. They have been having problems with them. Some MFG's have been shipping replacement light kits even when warranty has expired.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch or something else? Please Help-190w_limiter_1sa.jpg  

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
gkmcgurl (03-26-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
A few wiring questions on installing this timer switch thinksincode Electrical 19 03-04-2013 05:31 AM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.