Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 11:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Share |
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Gangbox to deep in the wall. Sorry to ask a question that has probably been asked so many times before. I cut back the drywall because the switches were sitting crooked in the box. As you can see the switches and receptacle sit to deep in the cover plate. The electrician I worked with would take a piece of wire and twist it on his screw driver and make a washer of sorts and put it behind the switches. What is the best way to do this. The most code compliant. A box extended would not work? I do not want to cut the drywall and move the box.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch sits too far into box-hpim1955.jpg  
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:33 AM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Use an add-a-depth ring and pack it out with small washers or machine nuts.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,513
Default

Switch sits too far into box


http://homebuilding.thefuntimesguide...et_spacers.php
Lowes and HD have them.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:34 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Default

Switch sits too far into box


A box extender like an Arlington BE1 and a BE2 would be your best bet. The code requires the box setback to be no more than 1/4" in a non-combustible surface like drywall.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,213
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Big box stores sell these in various sizes.
http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical/...&storeId=10051
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:48 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Default

Switch sits too far into box


The drywall has a very heavy texture so it will be hard to get the cover plate perfect. I am going to look into those Arlington BE1 and a BE2 simply for the fact that I can than get everything perfect. I was trying to avoid washers and what not. My electrician friend has been after me to get a "rope tester" so this maybe a good opportunity to go down to the supply house. Thanks
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Default

Switch sits too far into box


For a small gap like that use the wire wrapped around a thin screwdriver. Then cut to create custom sized shim.
The box extenders are for bigger extension like new drywall ontop old.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to michaelcherr For This Useful Post:
MCB (01-24-2013)
Old 01-24-2013, 06:16 PM   #8
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
I use them all the time, they work great, and would probably be only what you need!
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:54 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,234
Default

Switch sits too far into box


What the heck is a "rope tester"?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
brric (01-24-2013), electures (01-24-2013), frenchelectrican (01-24-2013)
Old 01-24-2013, 08:06 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Quote:
Originally Posted by fltdek View Post
I use them all the time, they work great, and would probably be only what you need!
The problem with them is that the box has to be flush in a combustible wall. Using them in conjunction with an add-a-depth ring will solve both problems.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:48 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Default

Switch sits too far into box


A Rope tester http://www.licensedelectrician.com/S...D/Test-Glo.htm First of all the darn box is flopping around in the wall. My house was just slapped together and it really makes me mad. I bought a bag of those neon green spacers. They did the job I wanted but I did notice a big gap all around the box. It is like everything in this house, one simple thing turns into a project. My whole point of this job was to replace a wall switch with an outlet and I just wanted to find a neutral . Now I am looking at tearing the wall out and putting in a new box. Do they make a clip that can re secure a loose box?
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:28 PM   #12
MCB
sparky
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Quote:
Originally Posted by paintdrying View Post
A Rope tester http://www.licensedelectrician.com/S...D/Test-Glo.htm First of all the darn box is flopping around in the wall. My house was just slapped together and it really makes me mad. I bought a bag of those neon green spacers. They did the job I wanted but I did notice a big gap all around the box. It is like everything in this house, one simple thing turns into a project. My whole point of this job was to replace a wall switch with an outlet and I just wanted to find a neutral . Now I am looking at tearing the wall out and putting in a new box. Do they make a clip that can re secure a loose box?
Although I haven't seen/used any up here, some enterprising American has undoubtedly made a triple EZ box... That is a box you can mount to the drywall without a stud. Or it shouldn't be too crazy to remount the box to a chunk of wood attached to the nearest stud. What was it attached to before? Then use an 850D to pull the other end tight with the drywall. (little clip to pull the non-fastened end tight)
MCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:19 PM   #13
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 697
Default

Switch sits too far into box


I was holding back and not going to answer, but am ready to get schooled here.
I see this issue all the time on remodel work.
For the outlet, basically the issue besides the box being to far back and happens all the time in remodel when adding new mud and texture.
And also the hole for the box was cut to big, otherwise the tabs and ears of switches would sit on the drywall and when tight the cover plate would work fine.

What is wrong with just backing out the screws on the outlet and switches?
I see it all the time when going into a remodel, I have done it many times, just seems like standard practice to me, But I do not see anyone suggesting it here in the original question.
Is it against code?

paintdrying, every electrician I know, simply backs out the screws on the switches if needed. and always leave them a little loose even if not needed on 3 or 4 gang boxes, is easier to move them around to line them up for the wall plate.
So simply loosen the screws and when you tighten down the wall plate, it pulls the switches to correct location and walk away.

I always spend 10 cents more for nylon cover plates and not cheap plastic, Am very happy with our current electrician and in 6 years using him, maybe had 2 code violations, nothing serious enough to stop the job, just correct before final.

My only point is, what do real electricians do when they find this issue?
They are there doing trim out and want to get paid for completion of job.
Will they call me and say box is to deep?
will they run to the hardware store and buy a box extender? Maybe if is to bad.
Or will they just back out the screws and make it work?
From the photo, I would just back out the screws and forget about it.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:36 PM   #14
MCB
sparky
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Switch sits too far into box


Quote:
Originally Posted by funfool View Post
My only point is, what do real electricians do when they find this issue?
A real electrician does not leave the box loose. That is a code violation no matter where you live.
A real electrician makes the switches and receptacles solid when pushed and safe for you and your family to use them.

And sometimes, a real electrician tries to assist a homeowner when they ask for it.
Your welcome.

a real electrician.
MCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:48 PM   #15
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 697
Default

Switch sits too far into box


MCB, the box is not loose. I assume it is attached to a stud or maybe even a remodel box.
Simply backing off the screws to the switches to the box, allows for adjustment. Now when the plate is installed, they are no longer loose ... your description does not apply.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to funfool For This Useful Post:
MCB (01-24-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.