Switch And Receptacle In Same Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


In my bathroom I have a box with a switch for a light and a receptacle side by side. I need to have constant power to the recepatcle and use the switch just to turn the light off and on. I have 2 sets of black and white wires coming in to the box and a black and white for the light fixture plus the ground wire for all. Is it possible to do?

Advertisement

andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


how is it wired now?
how did it work before?

Advertisement

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Quote:
Originally Posted by andog1117 View Post
I have 2 sets of black and white wires coming in to the box and a black and white for the light fixture plus the ground wire for all.
So you have 3 cables coming into the box, each cable with a black, white and ground?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


you provided minimal info so see if this fits:

Note: grounds not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
Switch and Receptacle in same box-sw-out-lite-out-always-hot.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Yes there are 3 cables coming into the box all with black,white and ground. The diagram you have is missing 1 set of wires
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Is anything connected now? If so a picture or a drawing would help us sort it out.
NHtransplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


This diagram shows how I did it but I took everything apart.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch and Receptacle in same box-30635d1272585839-how-do-wire-light-switch-receptacle-same-box-swithc-wirenuts.jpg  
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:46 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Andog, your diagram looks correct.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:18 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


So if it is wired the way the diagram says then there should be constant power to the receptacle when the light switch is switched off?
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:26 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


There should be power to the receptacle with the switch oof if wired as shown.

Did you install GFI protection for the receptacles?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:29 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


There was not one there before but I had to purchase one because it is the bathroom. It is a an old place and there are no GFIs in the kitchen or bathroom. Are they wired the same way?
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:31 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Quote:
Originally Posted by andog1117 View Post
So if it is wired the way the diagram says then there should be constant power to the receptacle when the light switch is switched off?
That is correct.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
andog1117 (09-12-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 12:42 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Thank you very much
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:52 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


You will use the LINE side terminals on the GFI for the power in. Any downstream receptacles would be off the LOAD side.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:56 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch and Receptacle in same box


Got it. thank you all

Advertisement


Last edited by andog1117; 09-12-2012 at 10:20 PM.
andog1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch to split receptacle Jrhenry24 Electrical 13 07-31-2012 10:59 PM
Electrical power disappeared from switch to receptacle craighank Electrical 3 02-19-2012 02:06 PM
Adding new receptacle and switch 8888 Electrical 16 02-07-2012 11:27 PM
Switched Outlet, Power into the switch then to switched receptacle ryanwake Electrical 1 01-23-2011 01:52 PM
Wiring receptacle > switch > motion sensor lights Van Home Electrical 11 08-10-2010 12:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts