Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Switch question


I need a bit of help. I have 110 power coming in a box, powering a 3way switch, then run to an exterior 3 way switch on an out side pole. WT, Black, Red. Green. These two switches control a light on the pole. Is there a way to also have a outlet powered at the exterior switch location that can be "always on" or does it need to be tied to the light and go on and off with the light???? Thanks for your help

bjm015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:28 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch question


there is no full time hot for the receptacle so unless you took a fulltime hot to the recep or outside switch, all you can do is have it go on and off with the light.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:35 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,796
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Switch question


Since you only have 3 wires at the outside switch, you can't put a receptacle there at all, no neutral!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:42 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Since you only have 3 wires at the outside switch, you can't put a receptacle there at all, no neutral!
well, you might be right there. I didn't pay that much attention to the count. OP said it went from the first switch to the second switch. I figured he didn't count the wires going to the light from the switch.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:48 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,796
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
well, you might be right there. I didn't pay that much attention to the count. OP said it went from the first switch to the second switch. I figured he didn't count the wires going to the light from the switch.
I just looked at it again, and if he does not have a neutral, then he no light!

Its late and maybe I should not give advice this late.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:18 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch question


The answer is no due you only have three conductors there and two conductors are shuttle { trallever } conductors so if you want a receptale it will be switched with the luminaire otherwise you will have to run a new UF cable or Conduit to the outdoor receptale next to the post.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:36 AM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I just looked at it again, and if he does not have a neutral, then he no light!

Its late and maybe I should not give advice this late.
I'm thinking either you or I are correct. There is something missing and due to that, at best, OP would be able to install a recep that is switched along with the light and at worst, cannot install a recep at all.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:03 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,589
Rewards Points: 112
Default

Switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Since you only have 3 wires at the outside switch, you can't put a receptacle there at all, no neutral!

This is wrong. Since the power starts at the first switch and light is connected to the second switch, there is a neutral at the second switch. A receptacle could be installed but it would be controlled by the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:49 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
This is wrong. Since the power starts at the first switch and light is connected to the second switch, there is a neutral at the second switch. A receptacle could be installed but it would be controlled by the switch.
IF the cable ran from the switch to the light and then the second switch, that white wire in the 2nd switch box could be either a traveler or the switch leg going back to the light. If whoever used XX/3 cable all the way, that is what they would end up with.

It sounds like the switch and the light may be on the same pole and if so, I suspect there is a neutral but no unswitched hot so in either situation, no full time receptacle is possible without more wire.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
basic question - single pole switch in a 3-way setup dbpass Electrical 10 09-07-2010 05:29 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3 way switch question brons2 Electrical 11 03-08-2010 01:58 PM
Dimmer Switch Question Livewire78 Electrical 6 01-03-2010 09:51 PM
Another 3-way switch question. perpetual98 Electrical 10 07-21-2009 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.