Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 04:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 712
Share |
Default

Switch plate cover screw bottoms out?


I have a handy box with a GFCI receptacle and once I mounted the receptacle and put the switch plate on the really short screw won't catch for some reason. I have some slightly longer ones and those caught but bottom out when they hit the metal ear of the handy box.

What is the solution? Drill a hole in the ear to let the screw through?

miamicuse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 04:56 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Switch plate cover screw bottoms out?


Quote:
Originally Posted by miamicuse View Post
I have a handy box with a GFCI receptacle and once I mounted the receptacle and put the switch plate on the really short screw won't catch for some reason. I have some slightly longer ones and those caught but bottom out when they hit the metal ear of the handy box.

What is the solution? Drill a hole in the ear to let the screw through?
I just cut the 6-32 plate screw... this happens often with a gfci is installed with a tile backslash.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:01 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Switch plate cover screw bottoms out?


Use the 1/4 X 6-32 screws I know they are short but if done right they will catch it otherwise get 3/8 inch screws that is next length you can use.

Did you any chance you used the cover screws that provived from the GFCI device out of the box or package ??

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:06 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Switch plate cover screw bottoms out?


Either ONE of these options:

1) Cut the screw really short. If that doesn't work, then ...

2) Drill and tap out the ear(s) of the box, so the screw goes in further allowing the plate to be tight against the wall.... OR

3) Don't use a "handy box" for your GFCI outlets.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to rewire outlet controlled by light switch? BuckyGunts Electrical 30 04-20-2012 02:18 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
How to choose light switch styles (for 2 and 3 gangs) jelly Electrical 2 06-08-2008 01:52 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.