Switch On Outlet Strip Causes Lights To Turn On For A Second Then Go Out - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2010, 10:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


power seems to be out on this one circuit. but when i press the red button on the power outlet the lights blink on then off

Advertisement

johnnyd60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Do you mean a power strip like this?

DM
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:01 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


actually, it is my tenant's apt and it just so happens that i am out of town. my wife and i take vacation this week every year!

He has a computer plugged into it so it might be a surge protector.
I tried getting ahold of him this morning but couldn't.
johnnyd60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Just tell him to go and buy a new surge protector. You can pay him when you get back.
You are not responsible for the strip anyway. It is whats pictured above, right?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:21 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


If it IS just a strip and plugging in that light pops it, have him unplug that light and try it elsewhere to be sure the fixture is OK. If the strip works fine without the light, he's likely over-drawing power from the strip.
Move light to another outlet.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:41 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


???

let me explain it a litlle further.

There is NO power in the apt.
When he pushes the red power switch on the outlet strip(and again i assume it is a surge pretector)the overhead lights that are controlled ONLY by a wall switch turn on for a second and then go out. Also, these wall switches do not control the outlet that the surge protector is plugged into.
My brother says that a bad surge protector can kill power on the rest of the circuit.
This small apt. is powered by only ONE circuit.
We just had a bad storm too. the same one that rolled thru new york city.
johnnyd60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 12:26 PM   #7
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 516
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


That's very weird. Are you sure he's not talking about a GFCI outlet? Better call an electrician.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 01:05 PM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyd60 View Post

There is NO power in the apt.
I believe he's maybe talking about the breaker then. A power strip needs power to pop!... lol Maybe not... we need more details. Po)
Of course, if the strip is killing power to the circuit, a simple test is to unplug the strip and turn on the lights! If they work, go buy a new power strip. Po)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 08:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Very strange. I wonder if the "power strip" in question is actually a UPS (battery-powered backup power supply) that is somehow backfeeding the circuit.
Matsukaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 09:19 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


ok fellas, thanks for your help.
i'll be home tomorrow to check it out.
haven't been able to contact my tenant cuz he has phone issues too!
johnnyd60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 09:27 AM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Cool, keep us posted on what is happening?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 12:21 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Well, it turns out that my brother (who is not a licensed electrician) was correct.

A bad surge protector will cut power to the rest of the circuit.

We had a bad storm so maybe it fried during the storm.

Now i don't know if it knocks out the WHOLE circuit OR just any part of the circuit that recieves power from/after the outlet in question.

In any case, as soon as my tenant unplugged the dang thing, all his power came back on. (only 1 circuit in his apt.)

Thanks everybody for your input!

john from jersey
johnnyd60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 01:58 PM   #13
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch on outlet strip causes lights to turn on for a second then go out


Thanks for the follow up! We love happy endings here!

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing switch from outlet purplepirate Electrical 7 08-25-2010 05:28 PM
Switched Outlet to Overhead Lighting Switch monkeystomach Electrical 14 03-03-2010 09:57 PM
Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch lburriss Electrical 3 07-07-2009 09:06 PM
2 lights one switch, power to the switch . . . gregoryc Electrical 15 03-17-2009 11:46 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts