Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 04:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Hey all,

I'm a pretty avid DIY'er, but I have encountered a problem re-wiring a switch to outlet to fixture. Actually a switch to outlet to outlet to lighting fixture. I removed the old outlet (did not draw a diagram or take a picture) and just cut and placed a new one it. The question or problem I have is that I have a feed wire (coming in from the first outlet to the second) with black/white/red and another coming in from the fixture with just black and white. How is the outlet wired? I'm stumped.

I thought it was white and black coming in mounted to the outlet, and the red wire used as the traveler to the fixtures black wire. Use the fixtures white wire and mount it on the outlet and pigtail the fixtues black with the red. I'm lost.

Any suggestions would be great..

Thanks-first time user.

jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Most likely the red is being used for the light. The black would have been a constant hot to feed the receptacle. Take off the switch plate cover and see if one of the wires connected to the brass screws is red. If so connect the red and the black at the second outlet.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Thanks for the reply. Just the only problem is that the wiring behind the light switch is that old cord wiring. A newer black wire is pig tailed to the other light witches in the box, with the old wire coming in too. It all worked before I pulled off the old outlet. I just forgot to look at the set- up.....
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:34 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


If this worked before the connect the black to the gold screws on the receptacles. Connect the whites to the silver screws on the receptacles. Connect the reds to each other and to the black from the fixture at the last receptacle.

Last edited by joed; 11-24-2008 at 10:13 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


There is only one red wire coming from the source going out to the second outlet. I do not have a second red wire to connect it too.

1 receptacle - 2 wires coming to it.

1 wire has black/white/red and the other has white and black.......
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:10 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


In your first post you said there was two receptacles. Let me clarify the wiring from above. The reds connect to each other in the mid point receptacle and to the black from the fixture at the second receptacle.
Quote:
Actually a switch to outlet to outlet to lighting fixture.
Please clarify the setup and cables in each box.

Last edited by joed; 11-24-2008 at 10:14 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:34 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Here is a picture of the outlet with the wire on the left originating from the source and the wire on the right going out to the high-hats. I just can't get the right connection through the outlet for the high-hats to work with the switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch-Outlet-fixture-dsc01112_2.jpg  
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Here is the view into the switch box. Just one old black wire pig-tailed with the other switches and a newer black wire coming in.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch-Outlet-fixture-dsc01109.jpg  
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:38 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Where does the red wire in the back left connect on the switch box?

Last edited by joed; 11-24-2008 at 02:39 PM. Reason: you posted another picture while i was posting
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:39 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Here is a view from under. Those are the two high hats being powered.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch-Outlet-fixture-dsc01114.jpg  
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:41 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


a photo of the other outlet, I believe is involved. Now their is no red wire attached behind this outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch-Outlet-fixture-dsc01110.jpg  
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:42 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


its connected to the other switch. That works my exterior lights. With the timer on the right.
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:45 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Those two wires you see coming out of the switch box are the only ones used for the high-hats. Man this sucks.
jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:46 PM   #14
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


It seems that three wire cable may not go to the switch box as suspected. We need to know where it actually goes and what it is connected to.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:06 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Switch-Outlet-fixture


Fixed... Thanks

jackjohnson1157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 06:11 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.