Switch Not Operating Outlet Anymore! The Brass Tab IS Broken. Help!? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


I changed out an outlet because it was old and not holding plugs well anymore. One of the receptacles was on a switch but now both receptacles are always hot. I DID break the brass tab on the hot side but that didn't change anything. I've also changed the switch out but still both outlet receptacles are hot.

Within the outlet box is a black hot wire, an orange hot wire (goes back to the switch), & a white neutral.

The switch box has a black hot & orange hot wire

Please help!

Advertisement

rabbit2115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:07 AM   #2
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


OK, so, can you verify that with the black and orange wires disconnected from the receptacle, the orange wire is switched?? meaning that when you operate the switch you liven the orange wire.

and, you've cut the the connector between the terminals that the black and "orange" wires are connected to and that the white has the connector in place??

rod

Advertisement

rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


I bet u have the orange and black wires reversed
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:52 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Double check to be sure that wire ends don't stick out from the screws far enough to touch other metal parts.

What other wires are in the boxes and how are they grouped in back (which cables are which wires coming from)?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-14-2011 at 11:55 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Hi all,

I removed the orange and black wires from the outlet to check if the switch activated either of them. They were both hot, regardless of the switch's position.

Therefore, I took off both the black and orange from the actual switch and tested. They too were both hot.

Now i'm more confused! Shouldn't the orange be dead if it's not connected to the switch?

This switch was fully functioning properly before I changed the outlet out, so I really dont know what could've caused this!??
rabbit2115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Maybe the wires got crushed at the back of the box because the clamps were too tight and the wires got shorted together back there when you pulled on them.

Are both wires still live when you disconnected both ends, namely from both the switch and the receptacle?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


yes, I just checked the wires when both disconnected from the switch and the outlet. The orange and black are both always hot. I'm guessing that means the wires somehow fused themselves together in the conduit? Both boxes look ok, the wires aren't touching...
rabbit2115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


If you rewired the receptacle incorrectly, perhaps you have damaged the switch, inadvertantly.

If the power from the panel goes to the switch box first, you would have the incoming neutral wired to the neutral going to the receptacle.
The power wire from the panel will be wired directly to a colored wire going to the recept. It will also have a jumper connected to the switch.
The switch will then be connected to the other colored wire going to the recept.
At the recept. the neutral wire connects to the silver recept. terminal.
The other, colored wires will connect to the two, split, bronzed terminals.
It doesn't matter which order is used!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Did you do some electrical work elsewhere at the same time?

Maybe the wires from this switch do not go directly to this receptacle and there is a problem at an outlet box or junction box in between.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-15-2011)
Old 03-14-2011, 09:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Hm. I did change out all the outlets at the same time because they were all so old. Is there a chance the orange switch wire runs through another outlet box? I'll have to open them up and check but if it is also in another box should it be disconnected from the receptacle?
rabbit2115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 12:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Maybe the orange wire is supposed to be live all the time and the black wire controlled by the switch. YOu;ll have to inspect all the outlet boxes that you worked on to see which is the case.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 06:01 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


If you live in Chicago area then I should able recall the conductor colour code and with orange that is switched hot while black is unswitched hot conductor.

So take the NCV tester to verify it or use the test light one of the two should able tell you the indentfication of that conductor.

Merci.
Marc

P.S. If you are in Chicago area then this link will give you the answer { Scroll down half way }
Colour codes link
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 03-15-2011 at 06:08 AM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 07:47 AM   #13
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,301
Rewards Points: 3,242
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


French Electrician ---I'm flattered that you saved that chart!--Mike--
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-16-2011)
Old 04-23-2013, 02:53 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


Check your new switch. It sounds like you may have installed a three-way switch in-lieu of a one-way light switch.
Kayak-Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:16 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 422
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Switch not operating outlet anymore! The brass tab IS broken. Help!?


I would expect that at some time in the past two years, the OP solved his problem.

Advertisement

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to daveb1 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-24-2013), jbfan (04-23-2013), sirsparksalot (04-23-2013), Speedy Petey (04-23-2013)
Reply

Tags
outlet , switch , wiring problem


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Replacing a wall outlet dimmer switch with a rocker switch Lonepine Electrical 1 01-05-2010 11:18 AM
Outlet controlled by light switch billvasko Electrical 3 12-29-2009 06:57 PM
Half outlet / Half switch tb582 Electrical 3 10-01-2009 09:55 PM
Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch lburriss Electrical 3 07-07-2009 09:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts