Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 02:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

switch for middle of run receptacle


Hi all,

I've checked online and this board, and can't find my particular situation. And I have a plan on how to do this, but it'd be great to get some feedback.

I am doing some wiring in my dad's basement. I set up a receptacle on the ceiling for a florescent light he has mounted which uses a standard plug. This line then goes to a junction box and then additional lights/receptacles. I didn't realize his light did not have a pull switch and so I need to run to a wall switch for just that receptacle. I don't want to affect anything downstream, all of which has already been wired.

So, what I am thinking to do is to add a cable at the receptacle, wire nut all three hot/black together. One is from the line, one (the white wire from the new cable, marked with tape as hot) to the switch, and one to go to the next receptacle down. I'll come back from the switch using the hot/black wire. That will go into the current receptacle.

The neutral line will go into the receptacle, as will the load which continues to the next receptacle. All grounds together, including a pigtail to the current receptacle with a wire nut.

Yes?

In the end there'd be a run through the receptacle with the neutral, but only one hot line coming into it. That's the part I am not certain is ok.

Thanks for any info you can share!

jpau00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch for middle of run receptacle


I'm not really following what your saying but as I understand you have a receptacle mounted on the ceiling to plug a flourescent light into ... you want to switch that receptacle.

Why not just run a simple switch loop out of the receptacle to a switch that would control the receptacle ?

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch for middle of run receptacle


Great, thanks. I didn't know the term of what to look up. Now that I do I found some resources. The image below is essentially what I need to do, except exchange a receptacle for the light in the image.

It is pretty much what I described (apparently not very well) except I should probably pigtail the neutral wires instead of using the receptacle for both line and load neutral.

jpau00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:22 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch for middle of run receptacle


Yep I think this is what you want ....
Attached Thumbnails
switch for middle of run receptacle-switched-receptacle.jpg  
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:20 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,557
Rewards Points: 42
Default

switch for middle of run receptacle


the description to me sounds like a switch loop which will work fine.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a receptacle from existing switch themow Electrical 8 11-14-2011 08:16 AM
receptacle switch mattherring Electrical 2 09-12-2010 06:25 PM
Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch? ellem Electrical 7 09-05-2010 05:17 PM
Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch Coady Electrical 2 09-03-2010 12:11 PM
Switch / Receptacle mikbro Electrical 11 10-31-2008 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.