Switch Loop Series + Hot - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2010, 07:06 PM   #1
DIYer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 93
Default

Switch loop series + hot


Hi all

I'd like to wire two overhead fluorescent lights to one switch and then have another switch in that box control two more lights. So the arrangement would be like this:
Code:
Source->Light->Light->Switch->Switch->Light->Light
It seems I will need a 2 wire source, then 3 wires between the first light and the second and the second light and the switch box. Yes?

I think I understand how to do this but just want to get confirmation from the board
So I'd make the red wire between the two lights be the switch loop and just continue the black wire to the switch box. Yes?


Thanks in advance

Advertisement

dwoloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 07:54 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default

Switch loop series + hot


Is this what you want?
.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch loop series + hot-switch-wiring.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:05 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 93
Default

Switch loop series + hot


This is my lovely drawn diagram, hopefully it's clear
Attached Images
 
dwoloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:09 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,664
Rewards Points: 6,122
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Switch loop series + hot


You are correct. You need three wire cable between the first two lights and the first switch. This image has only one light but it should give you an idea of what is required.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 04:24 AM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default

Switch loop series + hot


DW, If you have existing wiring where one switch controls two lights and the second switch controls the second set of two lights then a simple rewire of S2 (as I showed in Post #2) will make the second set of lights dependent on S1 AND S2.

The attached diagram is applicable only if you do not already have two switches with separate cables to each set of lights.

Your Diagram is wrong in that the AC is switched On/Off to the light. There is no AC power at the lamps unless the Light switch is On.

Note: If the AC input to the Light ckt is on a 20 amp feed then the feed to the lights on the diagram has to be 12-3
.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch loop series + hot-switch-wiring-3.jpg  
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 08-17-2010 at 11:12 AM. Reason: Rev dwg to show wire type
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 09:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,299
Rewards Points: 2,700
Default

Switch loop series + hot


What each cable does:

Power to first light. Requires two conductors for raw (unswitched) power and neutral.

First light to light box connected to first switch. Requires three conductors, raw power for all lights, switched power coming back from switch to first group of lights, and neutral.

Light box connected to first switch, down to said switch. Requires three conductors, for raw power to all lights, switched power going back to first group of lights, and neutral.

Between the switches. The incoming raw power is connected to both switches (using two pigtails). For those eavesdropping, if the switches are in different boxes, use two conductor cable to carry raw power and neutral between the switch boxes.

Second switch to and through second group of lights. Requires two conductors, switched power to those lights, and neutral.
__________________
Don't let the weatherman string you along. Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it actually starts pouring.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-17-2010 at 10:03 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:23 AM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default

Switch loop series + hot


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
.....Power to first light. Requires two conductors for raw (unswitched) power and neutral.......
The OP was not correct in showing raw AC connected to the lights. The OP also shows the two switches in the same box.
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Switch loop series + hot


Post #4 would be correct for what the OP wants.

Advertisement

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with 3 way switch loop wylde8 Electrical 7 12-17-2009 05:53 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
To Switch loop or not to switch loop beezlebub03 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 06:04 PM
switch loop aokss Electrical 13 05-07-2007 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts