Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

Switch loop


Have a question ...Today I wired a ceiling fan using a switch leg in an attic that was powering a light fixture with a pull chain. The ceiling fan and light fixture are at the end of the cable run.

Basically i need to know the best way to reinstall the light fixture, because it obviously does not operate properly in that setup.

Was not sure if i could A) do a switch loop out of that junction box, to a new box, then to a new switch for the light or B) do a switch loop to the new fan switch.

My feeling is that I should leave the fan/light as they are, and look for a new source for the light.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Gratephul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,398
Default

Switch loop


I do not understand what you had and what you want. I think you had a light fixture that had a pull chain.
Is the fan a replacement for the pull chain fixture? in the same box as the Pull chain? In a different box as the PC?
Do you want a switch for the light and the fan? two switches, one for each? a switch for the fan only?

What cables do you have? What cables did you add?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Switch loop


I installed a ceiling fan/light in a bedroom, ran 14/3 over to 2 new switches on the wall...one for the fan, one for the light. To power the switches, I tapped into an existing light fixture (with pull chain), in the attic. However i realized that the pull chain light was very dim, etc.

So i eliminated the light fixture(with pull chain) for the time being, and the fan and light fixture work great.

So in the morning i need to find a solution for the light fixture in the attic (the one with the pull chain).
Gratephul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:35 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,698
Default

Switch loop


How did you wire the pull chain light back into the circuit?

A pull chain light dosen't use a switch loop.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 05:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Switch loop


I did not wire the pull chain fixture back in yet, that's really the question...how do i get the pull chain fixture back in there without affecting the new light/fan.

Thanks for the reply
Gratephul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 06:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Switch loop


AFter you installed the fan/light combo you say the pull chain lite in the attic was dim. Did the fan/lite combo function properly at this time. Or did the fan/lite combo function "great" only when you eliminated the pull chain lite?

A setup like below will work.
Attached Thumbnails
Switch loop-pull-chain.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Gratephul (06-08-2012)
Old 06-08-2012, 08:20 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,398
Default

Switch loop


In the PC fixture you should have two black connected, two whites connected and the grounds connected. Add a black and white pigtail to these bundles and connect them to the PC socket.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Gratephul (06-08-2012)
Old 06-08-2012, 09:36 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Switch loop


Thanks!...that was the problem; i had not pigtailed the neutral to the pull chain fixture.

Gratephul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch replacement in 1923 old house elcc1958 Electrical 3 02-06-2012 08:42 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 03:17 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
switch loop aokss Electrical 13 05-07-2007 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.