Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2009, 12:34 AM   #1
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Um... How? Is it code friendly to run cable from a switch in the house to a light on the garage? Seems unlikely. How is this sort of thing handled?

gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


I believe code says you can have a "Switch Loop" run from the garage to the house, where the light at the detached structure gets its power from the detached structure and is switched at either location. Running power for the light from the house would violate the no more than one circuit to a detached structure rule.

A 3-way switch circuit would also be permissible provided the light still receives its power from the detached structure.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:47 AM   #3
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Running power for the light from the house would violate the no more than one circuit to a detached structure rule.
Exactly the source of my malfunction.
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:54 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


What's the problem? The power run to the detached structure can originate from the house to power things like outlets and such (and whatever else it needs to power), but a separate run must be run back to the house to control the light. You can't have two separate lines supplying power TO the detached structure. Maybe I should have made that a little more clear to begin with. If there is no existing circuit to the detached structure and all you want to do is put a light on it, then you would be fine just running one cable to the garage for the light and controlling it at the house with a switch. But I assume this is not the case and that you have more than a light to be powered in the garage.

Please describe what your problem is so that we can possibly find a adequate solution.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:03 AM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
I believe code says you can have a "Switch Loop" run from the garage to the house, where the light at the detached structure gets its power from the detached structure and is switched at either location. Running power for the light from the house would violate the no more than one circuit to a detached structure rule.

A 3-way switch circuit would also be permissible provided the light still receives its power from the detached structure.
Where do you guys get this stuff from?

Check out 225.30 (D), you can have a feeder to a detatched structure along with 3-ways fed at either location.

Also check out 225.36 Exception.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:05 AM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by gp_wa View Post
Um... How? Is it code friendly to run cable from a switch in the house to a light on the garage? Seems unlikely. How is this sort of thing handled?
You can do it.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:28 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Where do you guys get this stuff from?

Check out 225.30 (D), you can have a feeder to a detached structure along with 3-ways fed at either location.

Also check out 225.36 Exception.
Every time I see anything being discussed about detached structures that no more than one feeder per structure comes up. I remember a while back someone wanted a lighted 3way switch between the structure and the house and wanted to use the neutral at the house verses supplying one from the structure. It was not suggested that he just power it from the house.

Quote:
225.30 (D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch
circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies,
or phases or for different uses, such as control of outside lighting
from multiple locations.

225.31 Disconnecting Means. Means shall be provided
for disconnecting all ungrounded conductors that supply or
pass through the building or structure.

225.36 Suitable for Service Equipment. The disconnecting
means specified in 225.31 shall be suitable for use as
service equipment.
Exception: For garages and outbuildings on residential
property, a snap switch or a set of 3-way or 4-way snap
switches shall be permitted as the disconnecting means.
Looks like you shouldn't have any issues, I don't why no one has brought this up before (that or I just don't remember it ever being brought up).
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:07 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


This subject has come up several times here and on other forums. While it is true you cannot have two sources of power to any structure or dwelling unit on the same property, the exceptions are where we can and do add a switch loop if needed.

I have questioned this myself and have talked/posted at Mike Holts forum. I just think it is gray area and know one really knows how to interpret art. 225.30 to everyones satisfaction.

This started when a poster asked about a separate feeder entering his attached garage. He had a pedestal service and had more than one feeder entering the dwelling.
I can see the confusion. Switch loop okay, but receptacle not okay? See what I mean?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:10 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post

I have questioned this myself and have talked/posted at Mike Holts forum. I just think it is gray area and know one really knows how to interpret art. 225.30 to everyones satisfaction.

Whats gray about it? IF you have a seperate structure it can only be supplied by ONE feeder or branch circuit, UNLESS permitted by 225.30 (A)-(E).
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:16 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Exception: For garages and outbuildings on residential
property, a snap switch or a set of 3-way or 4-way snap
switches shall be permitted as the disconnecting means.
Seems black and white to me.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 09:40 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,148
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Before we had our garage rewired, the garage was wired 14/2, with a switch to shut off power to the garge. Went from the Breaker, to the switch loop, down to the run to the garage, and from there wired to the outlet for the opener, and light switch for single bulb.

Now without it, you have to open the garage, flip the light switch for the lights. No other means to cut the power to the garage, unless you want to go downstairs to the breaker panel to flip the breaker.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:33 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


I used a low-voltage transformer and relay for remote switching between my house and garage.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:08 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Switch in house, light on detatched garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Seems black and white to me.
Yes it's printed in black and white.

225.30 (D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch
circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies,
or phases or for different uses, such as control of outside lighting
from multiple locations.

This exception seems to make the article nothing more than words.
That is why IMHO it can confuse.

Gotta go now and run the second feeder to the barn for my phase converter.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire hot with light switch turned off dangerouswithtools Electrical 3 06-17-2008 07:56 AM
Connecting a Ceiling fan to a Light Switch AceAvenue Electrical 6 06-03-2008 03:06 PM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 07:32 PM
Adding on to house to build a garage. Ohioguy Building & Construction 5 02-09-2008 04:44 AM
New light switch burns out dsbutler71 Electrical 12 09-05-2007 07:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.