Switch Has No Power, Outlet Has Power - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 02:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch has No power, outlet has Power


All of the switches in my house are out of electricity. However, the outlets are still working. I don't know what is wrong with them. Similar thing has happened during last rain. Last time I called my local power company and the
technician were able to fix it within 10mins. However, it took them 6 hours to arrive at my house. Anyone knows what is the potential problems? Because I would like fix this issue to prevent future problems. Thanks

Advertisement

exc3ll3nts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch has No power, outlet has Power


Switches are generally for lighting, but can also be on the same circuits as outlets. You say "all switches", which puzzles me, because rooms are divided up so all switches would not be on one circuit. If multiple circuits are failing, so should outlets. You could have everything on one side of the two side line failing. That would also disable 240 volt appliances like ranges, dryers, etc. When you throw "rain" is the statement, that bothers me. That could be a dangerous problem. Have the house connections and service panel checked by a pro.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Just Bill For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-21-2011), PaliBob (03-21-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
How do i take a power outlet off of a controll switch gdm Electrical 7 12-18-2009 10:34 AM
power outlet and switch standard heights amakarevic Electrical 3 09-08-2008 10:05 AM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts