Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2009, 07:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

switch grounding


I know in certain situations receptacles dont have to grounded.

What about switches? Do they always have to grounded?

Steven Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 07:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

switch grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Jackson View Post
I know in certain situations receptacles dont have to grounded.

What about switches? Do they always have to grounded?

If the box is metal and is grounded, the switch is flush with the box (washer removed), you don't need to ground the switch.


Last edited by rgsgww; 02-09-2009 at 07:31 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:05 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

switch grounding


Receptacles must always be grounded. A "self-grounding" receptacle mounted to a grounded metal box does not need a jumper, nor does one mounted firm to a metallic box.
NEC 250.146(A)&(B)


ANY switch simply mounted to a grounded metallic box is grounded. Switches to not need to sit tight to a box nor do they need self-grounding clips.
The only time a switch does not need any grounding is a replacement switch in an ungrounded application.
NEC 404.9(B)
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Default

switch grounding


What about to a plaster ring to a box?
Steven Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:51 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

switch grounding


If the mudring is metal and it is attached to the grounded metal box, I'd say it is safe to assume that the mudring is effectively grounded. If the mudring is plastic then you'd need a jumper to the device.

Switches in plastic boxes must always be grounded.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 09:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Default

switch grounding


Awesome thanks guys.

Steven Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding switch? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 15 08-02-2012 04:51 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.