Switch Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 11:28 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Switch Ground


What is the reason for the grounding screw on some of the newer, premium light switches? Is it always necessary to bond the switch to ground, assuming the rest of your fixture / circuit is grounded?

Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:40 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Switch Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
What is the reason for the grounding screw on some of the newer, premium light switches? Is it always necessary to bond the switch to ground, assuming the rest of your fixture / circuit is grounded?

Jamie
Because you can put a metal face plate on it and the grounded metal strap is what bonds that plate to ground. Even when using a plastic plate, the metal screws are still exposed and need to be bonded. If the yoke were plastic, then there would be no need to ground them.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
does a switch in an old work box require a ground? jheavner Electrical 7 10-05-2008 12:09 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Two ground wires for one switch, none for another? josquin Electrical 5 07-01-2007 03:31 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts