Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 12:49 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


maybe the black and white wires running from the old dishwasher outlet to the disposal switch were reversed on the old dishwasher outlet (white was hot and black was neutral). Now that you've corrected that in your new dishwasher junction box, you are switching the neutral to the disposal instead of the hot. If you cannot see the colors of the four wires in the disposal switch junction box (because they are painted over), test to verify that you are switching the hot wire from the dishwasher junction box.

silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:50 PM   #32
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tard01

haha, sorry if confusion --- i meant i tested earlier during troubleshooting and still had failure.

i havent had a chance to attempt any action today. won't until after work.
Lol! If you have 120 @ all 3 at the dw then it's the switch or the outlet with a bad connection.
If your going to the store grab a new switch and outlet to replace the ones you have now.
It is one of those 2 that is your problem with the disposal not working.
Earlier you mention that you"cut" the wires (black&white) at the switch and tested them.
That is where the problem is,the 2 blacks go to the switch,not the white.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:05 PM   #33
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Use this to attach dw.

Name:  img.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  7.8 KB


Put this on the box.
Name:  img-1.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  19.2 KB
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:55 PM   #34
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


If he uses the method you are suggesting there is a very good possibility that there won't be a legal disconnect for the dishwasher.

Take the cord off the old dishwasher, install it on the new one, and put a receptacle back in the box where the dishwasher had an outlet. The cord and recept are now your disconnect.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:45 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


its all fixed!
replaced switch, outlet, and retied everything.

im guessing the outlet was bad. the connections seemed just fine.


only problem now is that the disposal turns on, but the blades dont spin. just hear the engine trying to do something. after letting it run for 5+ seconds, it trips itself off and is hot to the touch. might just need some cleaning.

i'll plan another day to take it out and see if i cant fix/clean the disposal to save money, or buy a replacement. it's super old anyway.

getting 124v to the outlet now and other appliances work in it (used cheap man radio test).

washer works fine, radio works fine together... but the disposal doesnt work on its own. so pretty certain teh electrical is good now, just the disposal itself is having issues.



i really appreciate all the help in this. i actually learned a bit.

side note -- the outlet i pulled out on the back said the backstabs were for #12 and #14 gauge both... so it at one point may have been code to allow the #12 backstab, but i screwed it on this time with the new 20amp outlet. seems all the wires are #12 gauge like i originally thought, but was worth checking none the less.

major props to those who offerred up so much advice. it doesn't go unappreciated.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:48 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If he uses the method you are suggesting there is a very good possibility that there won't be a legal disconnect for the dishwasher.

Take the cord off the old dishwasher, install it on the new one, and put a receptacle back in the box where the dishwasher had an outlet. The cord and recept are now your disconnect.

old cable/dishwasher are long gone.

i tried finding a 12 gauge chord at lowes, but only found #14. i ended up terminating inside hte junction and put a plate over it. i read your post after all of this... so this disconnect is not legal? I'm willing to fix if worth it for any reason (legal or hazard).

last thing i need is a fire.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:58 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


sublime... that thing u showed that twisted the 3 cables together... it have a name? didn't see anything like that, but man it would have made life a lot easier.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:13 PM   #38
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tard01 View Post
old cable/dishwasher are long gone.

i tried finding a 12 gauge chord at lowes, but only found #14. i ended up terminating inside hte junction and put a plate over it. i read your post after all of this... so this disconnect is not legal? I'm willing to fix if worth it for any reason (legal or hazard).

last thing i need is a fire.
Unless there is a way to disconnect power to the DW without undoing splices...ie a switch to turn off power, or a plug to unplug I doubt it is code compliant.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:49 PM   #39
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


The twist thing you refer to was just a pic of the type of cable to use it's not a tool for twisting wire. As for being hard wired it would not pass code.however, there are many who have in fact hard wired the dw. The issue as I read it is being able to service the dw and disconnecting the power while doing so.it is NOT a fire hazard with it being hard wired. Use the AC cable with 3 to 4 ft.length so if/ when it needs service it can be pulled out without concern about pulling wires out. If you need to service the dw you can simply flip the breaker to cut power.
To fix the disposal, there is an Allen in the middle bottom of the disposal I believe a 1/4" Allen screw.put the Allen in there an turn the motor clockwise to free up what it preventing the flywheel from turning.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by sublime2; 03-27-2012 at 09:57 PM.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:00 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
The twist thing you refer to was just a pic of the type of cable to use it's not a tool for twisting wire. As for being hard wired it would not pass code.however, there are many who have in fact hard wired the dw. The issue as I read it is being able to service the dw and disconnecting the power while doing so.it is NOT a fire hazard with it being hard wired. Use the AC cable with 3 to 4 ft.length so if/ when it needs service it can be pulled out without concern about pulling wires out. If you need to service the dw you can simply flip the breaker to cut power.
To fix the disposal, there is an Allen in the middle bottom of the disposal I believe a 1/4" Allen screw.put the Allen in there an turn the motor clockwise to free up what it preventing the flywheel from turning.

thanks for the twist recommendation, sublime. i'll replace that cable this weekend.

also, thanks again for the 1/4" allen screw tip... disposal is now working fine.

my kitchen is done! yay! I'm sure hte lady will appreciate it haha.

feels good to be done!

thanks again all for all the help!
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:03 PM   #41
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 2
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:13 PM   #42
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Why even ask if it is legal to wire the DW the way you did if you don't care?

If you are going to rewire it this weekend with AC cable why not wire a 14-2 6' cord with a molded plug, put a recept back in that box and have it done right? You do not need a 12 gauge cord if the DW is rated at 12 Amps or less.

I'd be curious to see how you ran the cord into the outlet box and put a cover on it legally. If you ran the cord under the plate, which it seems like you did by how you described it, that also is illegal.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:34 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Why even ask if it is legal to wire the DW the way you did if you don't care?

If you are going to rewire it this weekend with AC cable why not wire a 14-2 6' cord with a molded plug, put a recept back in that box and have it done right? You do not need a 12 gauge cord if the DW is rated at 12 Amps or less.

I'd be curious to see how you ran the cord into the outlet box and put a cover on it legally. If you ran the cord under the plate, which it seems like you did by how you described it, that also is illegal.

i bought a plate with a hole in it.

and the dishwasher is rated for 15amp alone, 20amp with disposal which is hwy i cant use a #14 chord.

i'm not opposed to getting a chord and wiring it up. i just didnt come across one when i went shopping earlier.

bear in mind, im no pro. just figuring it out as i go.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:47 PM   #44
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Could you post the make and model of the DW?

The reason why I ask, is I haven't wired a residential dishwasher that required a 20 A circuit. The ones I see have a MINIMUM circuit requirement of 15 Amps. That means the dishwasher runs at less than 15 Amps and that you can put it on a 15 Amp circuit. That being said, the only load on the wire from the dishwasher to the outlet/box will be less than 15Amps.

Easy answer...you can put a 14-2 cord on it legally, and have your legal disconnect...unless your specs show a minimum circuit of 20A is required.

Last edited by k_buz; 03-27-2012 at 10:54 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 05:35 AM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 0
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'd be curious to see how you ran the cord into the outlet box and put a cover on it legally. If you ran the cord under the plate, which it seems like you did by how you described it, that also is illegal.
I'm glad someone else picked up on that. I asked the same thing in post #30 and did not get a response.

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two switch ceiling fan/ light question ifthenelsenull Electrical 4 12-29-2011 03:23 PM
light switch wiring question. dannat Electrical 4 05-05-2011 09:11 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Garbage Disposal Question Tizzer Appliances 1 10-09-2010 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.