Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 11:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


hi guys. just put in a new dishwasher (working fine), but i created another issue in hte process.

my understanding/guess at the wiring...
20amp (matches dishwasher)
12/2 wire.

ok, so simply, the dishwasher, garbage disposal, and the switch that controls the garbage disposal are all on one breaker.

original config:
dishwasher outlet was an outlet. 2 lines in the junction.
garbage disposal outlet: 1 line in the junction
switch on counter: only black/white


so the 2 wires in the dishwasher outlet... i believe one is an "in" and one line is an "out" -- where that out goes, i'm unsure. My original thought was to the disposal outlet, but that outlet only has 1 line in it - so not sure how it'd tie to the switch if that was the case.



what i've done:

I originally only had the dishwasher/"in"-line together
dishwasher worked fine, garbage disposal 0v

so i figured i just disconnected it, so i combined the in/out lines AND the diswasher (all 12/2) together (red). I pigtailed them sufficiently and wire nutted them.

no change - i get 0-3v at the disposal outlet.
I measure the 3 lines tied to each other at the junction and all 3 seem to be showing 120v.

I pulled the switch out, measured 60v with it OFF, and 0v with it IN (not a typo, correct off/on order).

So i thought the switch might be faulty. I cut the switch off and measured black/white and still read 60v. (just testing to wires, no switch)

so somewhere i'm dropping half my voltage. note: the switch doesn't have a ground connected to it.



At this point, i'm not sure of a few things:
1) is it expected to be at 60v and the full 120v is intended to be sent to the end-connection? (read that regarding lights in another post)
2) does it sound right that the "out" line frmo the washer supplies the disposal?


-----
random thoughts:
a) thought about removing the washer and just reconnecting the 2 lines in the washer junction and seeing my results

b) not sure how the switch connects to the disposal. they each only have 1 line coming into them, with no outs.



if not obvious, i'm a novice. first real attempt at electrical work. tried my best on this, but just about reaching my limits.

Any advice would be sincerely appreciated.



note - the switch has no function on the dishwasher itself, only the disposal outlet.



the only concern i have with the wiring was done previous to me doing anything.
the original 2 lines in the washer junction had their grounds very thoroughly pigtailed (almost 3 inches of pigtail tight). I didn't think i could do a better job than that, so i left it there and tied the ground of the dishwasher to the 1-2 inches of excess from that pigtail. I figured as long as they all came together at a similar logical point, the effect would be the same -- is that a faulty assumption? Is it possible i need to touch specifically to the other ground it's not physically contacting (even though it logically appears to be?)



as you can see, i've put a decent amount of newbie effort into this and drawing blanks.


Last edited by tard01; 03-26-2012 at 11:06 PM.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


I'm a little confused about your post...

Early on you say that you have 2 cables in the dishwasher outlet box, but later on you say that there are 3 lines in the junction. Is this a different junction than the DW outlet? am I misreading something? is there a typo?

And as a little side question, if you were just replacing the dishwasher, why did you open up any of the junction boxes? If the dishwasher really had an outlet for it, why didn't you just unplug it?


Last edited by k_buz; 03-26-2012 at 11:14 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm a little confused about your post...

Early on you say that you have 2 cables in the dishwasher outlet box, but later on you say that there are 3 lines in the junction. Is this a different junction than the DW outlet? am I misreading something? is there a typo?

the 3rd cable is hte one i added from the dishwasher itself.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


i'm trying to post pics, having issues getting it from my phone to my email.

and for sanity sake, yes, i remembered to trip the switch on when testing the voltage of the disposal.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:18 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Seems as if there is a missing junction box somewhere or there is something you are missing when you are checking the boxes.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:21 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


here are the pics
Attached Thumbnails
switch to garbage disposal question-kitchen.jpg   switch to garbage disposal question-disposal.jpg   switch to garbage disposal question-washer.jpg  
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:22 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


If you have a basement, check the area under the sink for a junction box with 3 wire in it. But even if that was the case, all you would have to do is splice the wires together in the dishwasher junction box.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm a little confused about your post...



And as a little side question, if you were just replacing the dishwasher, why did you open up any of the junction boxes? If the dishwasher really had an outlet for it, why didn't you just unplug it?

originally there was only an outlet. the dishwasher i have replaced has its own junction instead of a power line. so i removed the outlet and tied the junction into the house junction.

i made sure to check for compatibility (20amp)
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If you have a basement, check the area under the sink for a junction box with 3 wire in it. But even if that was the case, all you would have to do is splice the wires together in the dishwasher junction box.

no basement. all other outlets seem to be 100% healthy.
and no matter how i came up with an answer, i never found a method to not tie 3 lines together.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:27 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


You mention something about (red) in your OP...I don't see any red wires...are there red wires anywhere?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:29 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You mention something about (red) in your OP...I don't see any red wires...are there red wires anywhere?

i just meant the red wire nuts - so appropriate for tieing 3 12gauge wires together. i pigtailed them prior to nutting them. i redid it a few times thinking this was the problem, but all meter tests show 120v, so i don't think its to blame any more.
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:30 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Yeah, you would have had to taken the cord off the old dishwasher and put it on the new one. The way you have it now, it is against code two different ways.

1) you will have an open junction box
2) you don't have a legal disconnect
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:32 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Yeah, you would have had to taken the cord off the old dishwasher and put it on the new one. The way you have it now, it is against code two different ways.

1) you will have an open junction box
2) you don't have a legal disconnect

1) when complete, i will address. it's open for truobleshooting
2) not sure what you mean by legal disconnect?
tard01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:45 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


There are a couple things you could try.

1) Turn off power to that circuit, and make sure, I mean take a voltage tester and check the voltage on the wires (not the screw terminals) going to the disposal outlet. If they are truly dead, remove those wires from the backstabs and wrap them around the screw terminals on the recept. Then reconnect the splices in the dishwasher box (if they aren't already) and see if the disposal works.

2) Again make sure power is off. Pull the disposal switch out of its box and remove the backstabbed wires and wrap those around the terminals. Turn power back on and see if that fixes the problem

3) It appears that there is a missing junction somewhere. I would have no idea where to tell you to look for it. If the above 2 suggestions don't work, or you don't feel comfortable doing those yourself, call a local electrician. He can see alot more than anyone here can.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:48 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

switch to garbage disposal question


There must be a means of disconnecting power to the dishwasher within eyesight when you are working on the dishwasher. If you are working on the dishwasher and can see the breaker panel, that would be acceptable as well.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two switch ceiling fan/ light question ifthenelsenull Electrical 4 12-29-2011 03:23 PM
light switch wiring question. dannat Electrical 4 05-05-2011 09:11 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Garbage Disposal Question Tizzer Appliances 1 10-09-2010 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.