Switch Conversion Possible? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2011, 10:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch conversion Possible?


I have a three way switch setup that I would like to do away with. Instead of the three way switches, I would like to install a single pole switch and add a receptical. Can I do this using the existing wireing? If so, how do I go about it? Thanks

Advertisement

compost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 11:40 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


It is possible but you must have a neutral in the switch box where you will do the change. If power to the current three way switch is fed to the box you'll have the neutral. If power is fed to the light and all you have is a switch loop then you won't have a neutral.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,899
Rewards Points: 1,404
Default


Traditional configurations:

power - light - switch = switch (no)
power - switch = switch - light (yes)
power - switch = light = switch (yes)

power - switch = switch (no)
|
light

switch = power = switch - light (yes)

2011 NEC compliant configurations have a neutral at every box including switch boxes and any 3 way setup can be converted into a regular switch plus a receptacle.
__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-15-2011 at 08:47 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:19 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3-Way Switch Conversion to two way


Thanks for your replies. Allen, Could you please expand on your reply? I am confused and need clarification. Thanks
Flavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 11:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1