Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 08:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


I have five (5) 12/3 with four (4) switches in a box. This means I have nine (9) ground connections to make (excluding to the box).

Question #1: Since I can only fit a limited amount of ground wires in a wire nut, is the correct way to connect all these ground wires by daisy chain a ground wire from wire nut to wire nut and then to the box ground screw?

Question #2: Is it legal to use multiple ground screws in one (1) box?

If "NO" to question #2, than...

Question #3: Is it leagal to have more than one fork terminal (Ideal Term-a-Nut with Wire Nut, Wire, and Fork Terminal) under the box ground screw? If yes, how many?

Thank you for your help.

MartinD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 08:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


You can have multiple ground screws, each in a suitably tapped hole or as bolt-nut combinations in a metal box.

You can put any number of fork terminals (spade lugs), one crimped to each ground wire or ground pigtail, under a ground screw.

They make little clips that go under one of the hold down screws for the switch or receptacle yoke to achieve the bonding of the device to the box.

I have also done this: take one long bare wire and daisy chain it from the ground screw of one switch or receptacle to the next. (I think this is what they call rabbit-earing.)

__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-26-2010 at 08:48 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 11:28 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,477
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


You can use crimp sleeves to handle that many wires also.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:36 PM   #4
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


Romex quick connects? I've seen ones that can handle 6 wires.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 09:47 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


If the box has a ground screw I presume you're using a metal box? If so, you're not required to ground the switches. The metal on the switches if effectively bonded to the box, which is grounded. Switches without green screws/ground terminals are available for this very application. You land your equipment grounding conductor on the box ground screw and you're done.

With a plastic box you've got to ground the switches.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 10:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Switch Box Grounding Questions


Yes, metal box; from his other thread:

Box-Fill Calculations

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan works, but light doesn't egildone Electrical 2 09-22-2009 11:20 AM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM
Three way switch questions jerryh3 Electrical 4 11-16-2008 06:09 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 05:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.