Switch From 120v To 240v New Breaker - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 07:45 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


Well I got 240v 20amp breaker, 10-3 conduit, and 240 outlet.

My switch box is a Square D and I have a few questions about it. From the picture i outlined what I believe to be the Netural Bar and the Ground Bar, can anyone confirm this given the pictures at hand?

thanks again!
Attached Thumbnails
switch from 120v to 240v new breaker-snc00668.jpg   switch from 120v to 240v new breaker-snc00677.jpg   switch from 120v to 240v new breaker-snc00678.jpg  

Advertisement

popwarfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 07:58 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


might have answered my own question but,

The Ground bar can either by the same or separate from the Neutral Bar? so its more for organization purposes from what i under stand?

As far as the conduit goes, correct me if im wrong:

-Copper, for ground
-White, for Netural
-Black/Red, for the HOT incoming wires?

So, if I buy 120/240v receptacle like this will I be in business?

For attaching my conduit to the Switch pannel itself;
-Red/Black wires go into the Terminals on the breaker
-White goes to the Neutral Bar in front
-Copper Goes to the small Ground in the back.

Correct?
popwarfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:48 PM   #18
Member
 
Abcanfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 12
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


The bad thing about that receptacle is that a 120 volt cord will fit in it!
Abcanfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:49 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


In that panel there is no separate neutral and ground bars. They all serve the same purpose.

That receptacle in the link is NOT one you want to use. It is really an obsolete old style device.

With all these posts and bumps I still cannot se where you say what this new 240v receptacle is for. WHAT is it for? And why #10? Isn't this a 20A circuit?
All in all, I am quite confused.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:57 PM   #20
Member
 
Abcanfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 12
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


A receptacle that is rated for 240 volts only would be safer.
Abcanfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:59 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,019
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


The new 240 volt circuit is for an air conditioner. The OP doesn't state whether window shaker or whole house. Since they do say receptacle I would guess window shaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:02 PM   #22
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


Your receptacle has to match the plug. Every plug has a NEMA spec which must be standardized. Stay away from any so called "universal" plug.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #23
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


popwarfour...don't take this the wrong way, but judging by your questions I feel you shouldn't be doing this yourself. Not saying that you can't do it, but if you do it incorrectly you may injure yourself or burn down your house. Get some qualified help with this until you yourself become experienced.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:12 PM   #24
Member
 
Abcanfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 12
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


First things first. How are you installing the wire ? Inside the walls? How do you plan to get the wired onto the panel?
Abcanfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:17 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch from 120v to 240v new breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Your receptacle has to match the plug. Every plug has a NEMA spec which must be standardized. Stay away from any so called "universal" plug.
Roger that, haven't made a purchase yet because i wasn't sure. Thanks for that valuable information!
I do not take it the wrong way, electricity is dangerous,
I'm more or less trying to learn all that I can about the process. A experienced friend of mine will be coming to show me how/assist me in the installation. Like I said, I'm completely new to this and, didn't want to come to the table with nothing to show, not my style. I'm trying to find out what I need to buy for this project, essentially. So I appreciate everyone's input.

I only need 2 HOT wires and 1 GROUND. There is no neutral with 240v, unless you are doing the conversion receptacle.

Advertisement


Last edited by popwarfour; 04-28-2011 at 10:16 PM.
popwarfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Light switch trips breaker C2C Electrical 6 03-11-2011 04:26 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 05:05 PM
help hooking up rocker switch for 120v ac motor; no drawing on the switch!! kooshball Electrical 3 07-04-2010 08:31 PM
How to connect switch to GFCI breaker? firemanter Electrical 3 10-28-2008 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts